Marrakech


Advertisement
Published: June 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

snake charmersnake charmersnake charmer

This guy caught me taking a photo of him and pretty much attacked me with the snake and hat.
"Hello friend? Sorry? Francais? Ingles? English? How are you? Come see my shop? Why not? Sorry? Hashish? Smoke smoke? Hotel? Taxi? I practice my English?"

I tend to attract these men -- I guess I look like a sucker.

This is one tiring city. Handling the touters is quite the challenge, but the energy and vitality is like nothing I have seen before. I enjoyed hiking through the souks, but as I was one of few tourists in the city at the end of June, going to the main square at night can only end badly.

I recommend Hotel Essaouira, just off the main square.




Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Hotel EssaouiraHotel Essaouira
Hotel Essaouira

Not a bad lobby for 8 bucks a night...
Djamaa El Fma2Djamaa El Fma2
Djamaa El Fma2

This is a view from above the main square.


Tot: 0.345s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 23; qc: 68; dbt: 0.1808s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb