Eid in Marrakesh


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco » Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz » Marrakech
November 15th 2004
Published: November 15th 2004
Edit Blog Post

Hello I'm in Marakesh! Its the 2nd day of Eid, a three day celebration at the end of Ramadaan. The strets are alive here, everyone is doing their last minute shopping and the men and women are dressed in their best. Its kind of like Christmas except without Santa Claus and christmas trees and snowmen and carols and pork products. Not only that, I can actually eat lunch now that the fasting is over (thank god).
Marakesh is absolutely beautiful. The buildings are all red, the gardens are all green, and one can see the snow-capped Atlas mountains in the background. We don't have school for most of this week because of Eid, which ends tomorrow, and Independence Day which is Thursday. I came down Saturday from Casablanca (yuck) where I had a decadent French dinner with a friend of mine on Friday night.
Marakesh is easily the most likable of Morocco's cities. The centerpiece is the Jema Al-Fnaa, a giant square in the center of the old city. The square is the permanent home of a sort of medevil circus. At night it fills with people who come to witness all sorts of spectacles. There are acrobats, storytellers, magicians, belly-dancing transvestites, and a wonderful assortment of berber musicians who play some incredable folk music. In the center there are a whole bunch of cheap food stands where one can have all sorts of great Moroccan delicacies from entire goat heads to wonderful soup, cakes and fresh orange juice. Around the edges of the square vendors lay out blankets and sell all sorts of snake-oil, tarot readings, spices and traditional crafts.
Above all this sit numerous roof-top cafes where one can sit back and watch the commotion or chat with the French tourists who come here in droves to shop and buy and restore all the old houses.
Marakesh is also home to numerous historical monuments, gardens, museums, palaces and the the like. Overall, it has more tourist appeal than Fez, especially for a short stay. Marakesh is easily explorable within a few days, whearas in Fez the best secrets are kept hidden for those with the patience to explore and discover.
Tomorrow I'm going to Rabat, the capital, where I'll celebrate independance day with the locals, then its back to school on Friday. Hopefully I'll be moving into an apartment this weekend: I found one I really like but I'm going to wait to see a few more before I decide. I miss you all! Call me! Send me emails!
B'Salaama,
Brad

Advertisement



16th November 2004

checkin in
YO... I wanted to drop you a line real quick...I am glad you are doing well out there and settling in a bit. I have been real busy lately with the biz, but I will definately get up with you soon on the phone. Talk to ya. Justin

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.051s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb