Apartment


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco » Fès-Boulemane » Fes
November 22nd 2004
Published: November 22nd 2004
Edit Blog Post

I have a home! Last night I moved into my new apartment, its perfect! The building I'm in is a restored 19th century riad owned by an American couple who only spend a couple weeks a year here.
I have two roommates. Gibron, from LA, is a 30 something year old English teacher at the center. He manages the restoration work and maintainance on the house for the owners. Gerald is a 50 something retired bookseller who is an expert on literature and classical music (and he knew my favorite author, Paul Bowles)
The house is absoultely gorgeous, its 3 and a half stories with a roof-top terrace centerd around a gorgeous covered courtyard. There are 4 or 5 huge bedrooms and 3 bathrooms. The courtayrd is elaboratley decorated with colored tilework and carved and painted wood. It looks postively palatial, and the salon and the sitting nooks are beautifuly furnished. There's a full kitchen with a gas stove, refrigerator and every kind of pot and pan one could want here. There's a hot shower and a western style toilet also, as well several squat toilets on the other floors. My room is on the 4th floor by the door to the terrace. It's a modest room, probably 15' by 20'. Right now there's just a matress on the floor but there's some furniture elsewhere in the house that Gibron is going to let me have to make it a bit more livable. The best part is that I can walk out of my room and straight through the door to the terrace. My have a beautiful rooftop terrace with unfettered view of the whole medina. There's no furniture up there yet, but i'm going to make the terrace my project (I'm thinking ping-pong table). I'm going to take some pictures when I get home and post them soon (I mean it his time). Miss you all, Come Visit!
B'Salaama,
Brad

Advertisement



22nd November 2004

Clutter
Keep your room neat and do your laundry. Rent? Guess Who!

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0464s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb