Drinking Cheers Across the World


Advertisement
Published: July 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The past couple of days... have been SWEET.

I think this is the only word I have to describe it.

I'm in this littlish city on the sea called Essaouira (Sa-wee-ra), and the vibe here is absolutely incredible.

What have I been up to the past couple of days? ... What haven't I been up to in the past couple of days?

I've gone for long walks on the beach, exchanging conspiracy theories with a local about the island off the coast that no one is allowed on (the government says it's because there is a rare species of bird on the island....)

I've chilled out of the ramparts of the old castle on the sea here.

I've met locals who have alternatively: taught me german, taught me arabic, taught me saharan drumming, exchanged buddhist philosophy with me, bought me fresh fish off the dock and had their friends grill it, introduce me to other travelers, and have had us all over to their house for dinner.

I've met other travelers that: went to AUC, where I'm going in the fall, know people from mcgill, just graduated/are going to mcgill, made constant fun of me because Canada spawned Celine Dion, invited me to stay with them for free for the month, and have taught me how to say cheers in practically every language there is.

At this point, I am never going to leave> I'm going to stay with my american friend here for free, eat for free, and get very contentedly fat. I might even head out to the Sahara and stay with my drumming friends for a couple of days.

Did I mention I love it here?

Stacey

PS. If you are ever going to Morocco, 1) come to Essaouira. just do it. 2) stay at hostel essaouira. It a bit more expensive than the other places, but they will offer you everything they can and the people are amazing. money never better spent.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0379s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb