On a bus from Tiznit to Tan Tan


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco » Guelmim » Tiznit
May 19th 2009
Published: May 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Propane Truck ridePropane Truck ridePropane Truck ride

Finally caught a ride on a propane delivery truck...
So all my fears about Ibrahim were false, as the man turned out to be unfailingly honest. On Thursday night (17 May) he got an excellent Berber tagine prepared. When I told him I didn’t want someone who would hassle me for money he seemed offended, say it will be like I am his son on our voyage (ya right! I think).

On 18 May Ibrahim wakes me at 5:55am and we have coffee at the hotel. Then off through the Atlas Mountains. Traveled by taxi from Ait Baha to Idaougniolig. At Idaou… we had lunch and I thought I’d been drugged because I got light-headed and paranoid and Ibrahim was laughing with some kids (probably at me, although not for the reason I thought). As soon as I went outside I realised I was fine. After four hours (Friday afternoon) Ibrahim found us transport in a propane delivery truck all the way to Tafrout. From there we took a crazy mountain night cab ride to Tiznit. The whole day I was paranoid of Ibrahim. I assumed that since it was night in Tiznit he would try to extract $ from me. Instead he showed me to a cheap hotel
Berber VillageBerber VillageBerber Village

We stopped here to have lunch...it took four hours to find a ride back out
and I offered him 500 DH, which is a lot but he deserved it for being an honest man during the trip and saving me cash. I’d rather give 500 DH to an honest man than 50 DH to a crook. (Example: Ibrahim gave me my change from the water I bought!!!)



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

In a Berber villageIn a Berber village
In a Berber village

Me (with my new hat) in a Berber village
From the TruckFrom the Truck
From the Truck

View from the truck's cab
Anti-Atlas MountainsAnti-Atlas Mountains
Anti-Atlas Mountains

On the road...


Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0695s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb