And the Melting Begins


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco » Fès-Boulemane » Fes
July 25th 2008
Published: July 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

A Canadian in Fez: (a Haiku by Stacey Waterman)

does not last long. they
melt like a snowman on a
hot Calgary day.

Ah, I would leave it like that but i promised people details.

In the past couple days,

I finally wrenched myself free of Essaouira. twas sad, but twas time.

Essentially woke up right when the bus was about to pull out of Casablanca station. Divine intervention, let me tell you, as the theme of the past couple of days has been "exhaustion" and i woke up at 545am.

Realized that I had, in fact, gotten sloppy lazing around the beach town. I was so frustrated those first couple of hours in Casa...

NB: people say it is not worth going to casa. but i highly recommend it; if only to break up the time spent in various medinas (little cities with intense windy roads), and to see the Hassan II mosque. worth every minute; worth every penny.

watching Casablanca at Ricks Cafe in Casablanca, with two brits that taught me what 'gimp' really meant...

Couldnt get my phone fixed.

Bus ride to Fez. am now here, its boiling. apparently ive just arrived at a nice cool bit though-- its been about 45 degrees for the past week. i think I would die.

Its a crazy awesome and old city... i like the crazy hustle and bustle here, even though all i long for is a good solid day to myself, to wander. far from being lonely-- i have to go out of my way for some solitude!

Ive finally figured out moroccan keyboards. This pleases me.

Stacey



Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0442s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb