Fes is HUGE!


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco » Fès-Boulemane » Fes
May 19th 2008
Published: May 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

SunriseSunriseSunrise

What a beautiful sight. You don't see this in US.
Will post info soon, just wanted to highlight sunrise from the roof of our hotel.

This morning I got up for sunrise and just missed it, but I hope to catch it tomorrow. I still tookk some great shots, one of which is included. I did it lone nd still testig out my camera... I'm a lil late, yes. We found an internet cafe that was 7dh/hr. Thanks to a crppy spacebar I spent 8dh but still not much. Everyone is friendly and eve though a lot of ppl are poor they try to sell you something to make money...unlike US where they just demand it. There area few people who just hold their hand out but a no or two gets them away.

THE BANK is open... I was broke and needed money. The rate didn't change much so I changed a lil. Yes, dad, I am keeping track of my spending and thankfully most things are reasonably priced. When we stop places I usually ask someone to help with a word or two of arabic. But most Morrocan arabic is sifferent from MSA so it won't do too much good in the US or other countries. I
Our abodeOur abodeOur abode

Full sized beds!
had a kefta-like sandwich minus fries with chicken for about 20dh.. i actually had another later in the afternoon. It's heqlthy so who minds? Plus it's fresh. I also got a leather wallet and a shirt. Oh and I also bought kohl, for your eyes and a liner and container... Lets see if I cn properly use it. I didn't bother trying to argue the price.. Much lore reasonable than when I went to Haiti.

We stopped for Ice Cream, I got Nouget (4dh) and we sat and people walked up and doan the street in the medina. We made it back to the hotel and got our bags and paid for tha last night. They did want us to pay for checking out a few hours late but after talking about how late it was when we checked in, they let us go with a firm warning.

Off we were to the 650 train to Meknes.




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Mosque QaraouiyineMosque Qaraouiyine
Mosque Qaraouiyine

One of the many sides of it.
A Moroccan ToiletA Moroccan Toilet
A Moroccan Toilet

You get the western or Moroccan style options.


Tot: 0.181s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 17; qc: 64; dbt: 0.0857s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb