Meknes on my mind


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco » Meknès-Tafilalet » Meknes
May 19th 2008
Published: May 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

We took a turquoise petit taxi to the Medina area. It was just over 10dh, we beat the night-time double fares. We looked over a few hotels and Hotel Regina seemed like the best bang for our buck. It's 100dh/nite for 2ppl so it's really not much at all. Wanted to try a hammam but that didn't happen. Maybe I will get up early enough tomorrow. My hair is BEGGING to be washed, yuck, I know. Oualili is still on my list of places to see. Our hotel offers hot showers for 5dh. He told me the roof was closed when I asked but the lock is actually broken so you just slide it over and you can open the door. I like roof top views and the air, even though it's a bit tainted with diesel.

I as gonna try to take photos of sunrise here but I may put that off as well.The call to prayer started when I was on the roof and the lights in the tower of the mosque I as facing came on. I was craving tea and when I went back to the room, Sam wanted tea! Great. We walked downstairs and a lil of the street before deciding on a lil tea shop near the hotel. The danon yawmy ads are everywhere and they discribe the tea! On our way to the medina we saw a McDonalds that sold Chicken Mythics and they had a McDrive (drive-thru). Interesting.

Tea Shop = Morocco
Sports Bar = US
Pub = UK


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

A family moment...A family moment...
A family moment...

in the square...
VoulibilisVoulibilis
Voulibilis

Otherwise known as Oualili.
Our RoomOur Room
Our Room

Clearly we have a lovely view... no need for blinds.


Tot: 0.191s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 19; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0504s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb