Morocco


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco » Fès-Boulemane » Fes
March 14th 2008
Published: March 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

BlueBlueBlue

This is the town of Chefchouen.. Great place to just relax..
WOW thats all I can say.. From the beaches of Rio to the shores of Tangier, there could not be two more opposite places. I had never been in a Muslim country before and what a shock. Morocco is a bit intence at first (well all the time really) but you get used to it after a few days, from the venders to the "friends" you meet on the street who just want to help a tourist out for a small price. The first couple times you fall victim to them all but once you get it a feel to how thing work you start seeing how beautiful the country is. I found Morocco and the people to be so welcoming and helpfull. I started in Tangier then moved on to Fez which is one of the Imperial Cities which seems to be in some ways still be as it was a couple hundred years ago. Then I met up with a few kids from Ireland who "adopted me" they liked to say for a week. We traveled to Marakech and took a trip to the desert and rode Camels to the camp we were staying at in the Sarha. The
Cafe ParisCafe ParisCafe Paris

You may have seen this in the last Bourn movie
only problem was the rain.. Yes Rain in the desert, of course it was the first time it had rained there in 3 months. The smell of a wet camel is no good to say the least..Just my luck. None the less it was beautifull and we had a Guide to take out all are aggression on (long story I will have to fill you in on later). Then we rented a car and drove off to Essaouira for a few days which was amazing, except for the 400 Dh speeding ticket I got (I was doing 65 km in a 60km zone). From there i just worked my way back up the coast back to Tangier. I spent a few days with Marchen who was from Poland and then like everywhere else I had to leave even though I wanted to stay.. I have a felling this is not going to change,so now i see it as, i am building a list of places I want to go back too..


Additional photos below
Photos: 38, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Camels on the BeachCamels on the Beach
Camels on the Beach

you would never know this was Tangier..
DonkeyDonkey
Donkey

Morocco is full of sad sad donkeys
Berber Carpet DealerBerber Carpet Dealer
Berber Carpet Dealer

Mint Tea for all..
Home sweet home..Home sweet home..
Home sweet home..

I stayed here one night in the middle of the Sahara.
Ok so its not as easy as it looks..Ok so its not as easy as it looks..
Ok so its not as easy as it looks..

kind of like riding the Bull in TJ...


21st March 2008

Looks like fun
I see you went to Asilah, how was it? I'll be journeying that way hopefully in May! Very excited about going to Morocco.

Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0754s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb