This is how we dangle from cliffs.


Advertisement
Mali's flag
Africa » Mali
March 28th 2006
Published: March 30th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Y'ello,
This journal is about Mali, about wild stuff that happened on the edge of the Sahara, but before I get to that I feel compelled to confess that I wrote my last journal somewhat frustrated and bothered and so omitted some of the positive that had a place there. I forgot to write how utterly exhilerating it was to cross the breadth of a country, of Ghana, in three days in the back seat of a station wagon stuffed to bursting with the musical instruments of Burkina Faso, instruments my friends had made, ngonis and djembe drums and bellophones. That was worthwhile. And I forgot to write how I spent most of my evenings that first week in Burkina making music with friends around a leafy courtyard, singing, mostly, because I don't know how to play the djembe. Also a great pleasure. But on to the interesting stuff.

I headed up to Mali. Mali is a large francophone country on the edge of the Sahara, perhaps most famous for Timbuktu and for Dogon country, a range of ancient cliff-dwellings along the Falaise of Bandiagara. It was towards the latter I was headed, la pays Dogon, one of the biggest formal tourist attractions in the area. Getting there was a hassle, less upsettlingly so because I was with Madi, a thirty-year-old Malian who I had hired to be my guide (a guide is obligatory) in Dogon country. I had hired him outside of the area, in Burkina, despite what I'd heard about the risks in doing this, because I liked him, I trusted him, and I felt he was being straightforward with me. He was big, quiet, grounded. He knew the way and spoke the languages. At the Malian border an official tried to make my life difficult by giving me back my passport without a stamp - so that, Madi explained to me, when I came back to leave the country I'd have to bribe my way across. May I suggest installing showers at all such borders so that travellers can wash the slime off?

In Koro, having entered Mali, we waited hours again for another minibus to fill up. Eventually it filled, but it was too full, people were on top of people were on top of crying children, and Madi and I and a few others were told to leave. Fifteen minutes later we were loaded into the back of a bache, a little cargo truck with an exposed mesh, and after the requisite delay began an hour-long voyage on a wooden bench down a road that was not a road, a road that was little more than a narrow, wobbly track through the bush, taken, I later found out, because our driver lacked the papers necessary to render our voyage legal and so drove well off the beaten track to avoid the gendarmerie. Also in the bache were a couple of older Muslim men obscured by turbans and gaudy plastic sunglasses, a combination that seemed to me both intriguing and stylish.

We slept at Bankass, a town towards the foot of the Falaise. I rose the following morning to find my beautiful, simple, comfortable plan of going trekking with Madi ruined by Madi's waking up sick, unfortunately - he said his heart was pounding too fast, it happens sometimes, but he couldn't go climbing cliffs, I could go with his friend, another guide, named Mutu, no problem. I asked him if I should wait for him, he said no. Had I known how things would turn out I don't know if I would've done
Me, ThereMe, ThereMe, There

I know, I know, this is vain, but it is my one true bona fide Indiana Jones shot and I will treasure it forever, so there.
anything different. Maybe not. But I'm getting ahead of myself. I climbed aboard a horse and cart and headed into the hills.

Mutu seemed like a pretty nice guy, around 25, though he didn't put me at ease the way Madi did. He was big on the "No problem"s, the "Il n'y a pas d'une probleme"s, the "Don't worry"s, which tends to put me on my guard. We arrived in Kani Kombole, the first village before ascending the cliff, ate lunch, walked around the village a bit, then spent far too long waiting to do anything else. After hours and hours of sitting, resting, trying to write, obsessing, reflecting that doing nothing is doing nothing wherever in the world you are, at 4 PM we set out to trek up the Falaise to the next village, Djigibombu. It was me, Mutu, and an older grizzled guy with a stick. After about ten minutes Mutu was getting seriously on my nerves, telling me over and over to give my backpack to the grizzled guy when I kept telling him I was fine, also stopping every minute and talking to me incoherently about his feet, how he needed better shoes. After fifteen minutes I was nervous about having to depend on him alone in the bush. After twenty minutes I was almost certain he was utterly, fall-on-your-face drunk. I said so. He didn't deny it. I said it again. He said he'd had one beer with some French tourists. I said he'd had more than one beer. He looked at me blankly. We were halfway up a cliff, we were far from civilization, I was otherwise by myself, night was coming fast, and my guide was pissing drunk. I wasn't a cool camper. "No problem," he kept saying, and I said no, there was a big fucking problem, and how was it possible that somebody who I was paying well to be my guide was drunk our first hour out? Excuse my French, it's inelegant, but the fucking son of a bitch. I cooled down fast enough, or tried to, realizing that I was alone and still had to depend on this gentleman so that I didn't wind up stranded in the hills, but he was beyond reason, and it was difficult. "Sorry me," he kept saying by way of apology, and I kept saying, "It's fine, it's fine, it will be fine, just leave me alone and sober up," but he wouldn't stop saying "Sorry me" for long enough for me to finish the sentence. I just wanted him to stop harrassing me by this point, for us to reach the village and be apart. Somewhere in here he decided he didn't like my attitude either, or else he was just too sauced to climb any further, because he stopped and said he was going back down to rent a moto to go to Bankass to get Madi. Knowing there was almost no chance of him actually doing this, I told him no, he was going to do what he was supposed to do, which is to lead me to the village, to civilization, from where he could do what he pleased. He was visibly wobbling. Night was approaching, maybe an hour of daylight left. I started thinking about what I would do if I got stranded up here, whether I could find my way back to where we'd started, whether the litre of water I had in my sack would be enough. We were still standing there arguing back and forth when a couple other guys, locals, came up over the rockface towards us. They saw there was something wrong, Mutu and I took turns explaining the situation, and the older of the two guys disappeared with Mutu talking fiercely in Dogon. I waited with the younger guy. "He told me he's only had one beer," I said. "He drinks lots," the younger guy said. (In French; all this was in French.) "You can see by the way he walks." Mutu and friend returned. The older guy, Harouna, would be my guide; he had gotten the money I had paid from Mutu. Apparently much of my money had disappeared. I wonder where it went, this magical vanishing money. If you drink a bill straight will it make you sick the morning after?

Harouna was a great guide: honest, knowledgeable, sober while climbing cliffs. Dogon country is beautiful. I found my trek there quite boring. Now, granted, I'm a grouch and probably a curmudgeon in training as well, and I know that Dogon country is near the top of many people's must-see lists for this part of the world, but I just don't see much appeal in touring a place where people are living and working and going about their lives while I stand there removed, smiling, snapping photos as though the undernourished naked little girl asking me for candy were Niagara Falls. I get it, but I don't get it. Maybe I just instictively reject what people insist I must find impressive or worthwhile or beautiful. I don't know. But during all the hours I sat around at campements waiting for the midday heat to subside so that we could proceed - the hours when I first wrote this - I was always aware that I was an outsider, that even if I understood the language in which Harouna joshed with his friends (which I didn't), and even if fundamentally I accepted the local young guys as interesting, decent people and they accepted me as same (sometimes true), I was not one of them, I could not be one of them, and that while I could be and was genuinely interested in their villages, in the way they lived, ultimately that interest could at best be academic. Physically, viscerally, soulfully, I could not possibly understand; I could emulate and posture, if I wanted, but I could not understand. There was plenty of novelty in sleeping on village rooftops,
Donkeys posingDonkeys posingDonkeys posing

I took out my camera and she gave me her profile. A pro.
and there was plenty of intellectual interest in seeing ancient cliff dwellings, but actually I have a sneaking suspicion that those aspects of the experience might have been absolutely meaningless. I know that my fight with Mutu meant something. I know that because of how it sits in my gut. I'm not convinced that my spending four days in cliff-side villages will stay with me the same way. From that I got some pretty photos.

I returned from Dogon country, Madi was waiting, Mutu had disappeared, and all the guides accused all the other guides of being cheaters, liars, hustlers, or crazy. I didn't trust any of them. Madi had waited for me because we were going to head off to Mopti together, Mopti being a old nearby port city on the Niger River, and while by this point I didn't really feel like going I agreed because Madi had hung around for four days only to wait out my return. Unfortunately, once we arrived in Mopti, just about everything Madi told me he could deliver as a guide (accomodation, easy transportation) he could not, and so the interest of Mopti was again outweighed by stresses like finding a place to stay, having spent the money I would've used for a hotel on bus tickets for Madi. Ultimately we slept on the roof of a taxi driver's apartment in the old quarter of the city where the center of the narrow street was filled with the most excrement and toxic refuse I've ever seen in one place where people live and children play as well - long story. But it wasn't much fun, I didn't know what I was doing there, and the following morning I'd absolutely, positively, and with finality, had enough. It happened like this. We were waiting for another bache to fill, this one for the ancient town of Djenne, we were waiting for six hours, we'd been told it would leave at 7 AM sharp, I hadn't slept the night before, everywhere was the smell of shit and meat and dirty river, half the time we were waiting inside the bache itself, crammed so tight between wood and metal and other people that there wasn't even space enough to wiggle a foot in the 40 degree heat, the crying baby next to me kept sticking its hand in its mouth and nose and then touching my face, and every time I tried to close my eyes and breathe and say just hold on, it'll get moving soon, it has to, some young hawker would pull on my arm, "Monsieur, les montres?", "Monsieur, lumettes?", "Monsieur, gateau?", Monsieur, Monsieur, hey, hey, you want boisson? and after six hours of that, and thirst and dehydration because you can't drink because God forbid you should have to pee or worse while on one of those things, I said "Madi, I'm done," and he said don't worry, and I said no, I was done, I wanted out, I didn't really want to go to Djenne anyway, another mosque, some neato old buildings, let's grab my bag, please, and finally he took my word for it and we left the bache to get my bag from the roof. But the touts wouldn't bring it down. We insisted. They wouldn't bring it down. It's already tied down, they said, the car is leaving right now, and sure enough the bache started to pull out without us on it. We ran back to jump in, and I thought, okay, this is okay, as long as it keeps moving there'll be a breeze, there'll be movement, this is doable. Then the bache stopped at a gas station. Too long. We waited, we waited, I put my hat under my butt to ease the effects of too many hours in one position on a wooden bench. We got moving, drove into town, stopped again. The driver was having a laugh with some friends. I tried to distract myself, I thought it'll move again, what stops must move, that's a law of physics, no? and more practically I thought there's no way I can get out of here. They won't give me back my bag. We drove out of Mopti. The road was again not a road. But there was a breeze, and movement. We drove like this for twenty minutes. Then, in the middle of a small town on the outskirts of Mopti, we slowed to a stop. As always nobody had any idea what was going on. The driver got out of the cab. He lifted the hood of the truck. He and several others did the local equivalent of scratching their heads, holding a wrench, and saying, "Broken? Dang." We sat there for twenty minutes. I was getting really thirsty. I had half a litre of water left in my bag. And there was no way I was finding bottled water here, in this little town, and my filter was in the bag on the roof. It was now midday and hotter than 40. And I told Madi quite calmly, inexplicably calmly, that I didn't have enough water to travel like this, I didn't really want to go to Djenne, and if we got off here was there any way we could find transport back to Mopti? He said yes. I said let's go. We got off, demanded my bag in a way that brooked no argument, somehow found a taxi back to Mopti. By the end of the day we were at the border with Burkina Faso. I slept that night in a campement room with no light, no fan in the deadly heat, mosquitos quite shamelessly inside my mosquito net, in a bed that smelled like various bodily functions, music from the bar outside my window blarring, not wanting to leave my room because this Nigerian prostitute wouldn't leave me alone for three seconds. I went to bed at 7:30 PM that night. I believe I said, out loud, something to the effect of: "You're not out of the woods yet, Dorothy." Which sounds slick but as far as literature goes doesn't really make much sense.

And that's my story. From there I made a beeline towards Ghana and the coast, stopping for a couple days in Ouahigouya, northern Burkina Faso, because there was a thing with a girl there and I promised I'd come back, but that's not really worth writing about. We didn't get each other and she wanted to marry me and have many, many children together far too quickly for my comfort.

I'm in Kumasi in Ghana right now, about six hours from the Atlantic coast. The plan as it stands now is to stay there, on the coast, until my flight leaves in about a month from now. I am going to a little place on the beach where there is hot sand, cool breeze, a little bar, a nice Italian family-run restaurant up the road, and where I have a couple friends. I am going there to write. I am unsure whether this is the vacation part or the work part of my trip, but in any case it should be rather different from how I've spent the better part of the last two months: in frantic motion. My flight from Ghana goes to London, from which I need to buy an onward ticket. Right now my thinking is that that ticket will be to Israel, for reasons detailed in an earlier journal. I've been looking at some study programs there and things like that, maybe working on a kibbutz or just travelling. If you have any leads in this respect please feel free to let me know.

If you posted a comment on one of the last couple journals, thank you, and I've written you back underneath. Hope stuff's good where you are. Love from Ghana.

Daniel



Advertisement



30th March 2006

long way indeed, Dorothy.
I've been keeping track of your blog and in a way, im quiet jealous that im sitting in my school, bored and you're out exploring the world. Right now, you lead anything but a mundane existance and i commend you for it. Speaking of which, my sister was watching some TV show the other day and you were on it. And now you're in Africa. I find that interesting...by the pictures (and your look on the show) you are a completley different person. In the show, you're the karasik I remember. Here, you're the Daniel I have yet to meet.
30th March 2006

Donkeys! Why did it have to be donkeys?!
Now, see, if you're really going to be indiana jones, you have to be able to save your hat from imminent peril at the very last second. You also need to know the exact weight of a bag of sand vs. that of a very expensive artifact that is really better left where it is to begin with. Practice that, and we'll talk. HELLO!! You're there! You exist! this is wonderful! How are you? I've been reading through previous entries and it sounds like you've experienced an enormous range of, well, things. I'm surprised you have time to devote to this, it seems like so much has been happening. I'm writing this from history class, where we recieve information about what has already happened, after it's been edited by the TDSB to the point where it's safe to assume it never actually happened that way. So it would appear that the going rate for running water and air-coditioning is uncensored information. Hmmm...decisions, decisions... The pictures that you've taken, by the way, are absolutely, stunningly beautiful. I don't think I've seen anything quite like them. (um...we breifly interrupt this comment to bring you someone from my school saying hello to you. So, "hello to You".) Just the amount of colour and light in them makes me really really want to be there. Anyway, that's about all I can think of right now. Good luck with your travels, and I really hope you don't get sick again. Oh, and try not to bug any snakes. Trans-atlantically, transmutably, and transexually(?), Rebecca
30th March 2006

you speak of les faux amis
wendy cecil forwarded this blob and the one about the jew in cape coast(?). i have just returned from 31 days teaching in kitase (between madina and buri) and know of what you speak. i never left the country as you did but traveled to akisombo and madina and accra and naunga by trotro, trying to ignore the obroni obroni name calling. kwame appiah has just written a book entitled cosmopolitanism. try and find it (if you read other peoples' works). he talks about what you are talking about. i didn't see sights in ghana - it is not a country i would go to as a tourist. with whom will you celebrate passover? louise levitt
31st March 2006

hey Danny boy, ah, the adventure continues. I have to say, these are the most amazing pictures I've seen so far from your trip; amazing. I love the Indiana Jones one, and the donkey one, and definitely the market one...they're all pretty amazing. I see what you're saying about the inability to understand or "be part of them". There's an interestin gphilosopher who's name I forgot who talks about how we can study a bat, and understand that a bat sees the world differently, but we could never KNOW what its actually like to BE the bat. anywho, don't know if that made sense or was remotely interesting, but you reminded me of it. keep trecking, I look forward to reading the next installment... :) Ker
31st March 2006

From the yellow brick road
Kirill: don't be jealous. I've been ferociously bored here too, it's just a different breed of boredom, where you're bored and also worried you're going to need a toilet while on a bus. You're right about the completely different person thing though. I've made a business arrangment with a nice, honest gentleman I met down an alley here, swapped passports, changed clothes, given him all my money. I'm now a Nigerian gunrunner named Francis Awidah. That's probably the difference you noticed in the photos. Rebecca: Hi. Thanks about the photos. Dogon country is photogenic. Yes, a lot has been happening, but actually devoting time to this and other correspondance is a great pleasure, because I miss you and everybody from home and keeping in touch makes me feel a little closer. So that's why I update this thing. I also feel a compulsive need to share some of what's happened because otherwise I don't know WHY it's happened, it sort of feels inexplicably strange and isolated and without sense, and putting into the form of story or what have you makes it feel more meaningful to me. So that's another reason. Louise: I responded to your e-mail, but thanks for the tip, I'll look for that book when I get back. Ker: yeah, it's like the bat thing, but it's complicated by the fact that I know I can't understand how a bat feels, I accept that I will never know the heart of a bat, and that's fine, that's natural. On the other hand I THINK I understand how a young guy my age functions, basically, not specifically of course, not in terms of personality or disposition etc etc, but there are certain very basic assumptions I make, and when those are entirely wrong I don't despair but I do question whether I want to spent long days essentially in strained silence with these guys. Do you know what I mean? Like, when you travel to a radically foreign place there's still the possibility of connecting and the possibility of not connecting with the people you meet, and so I guess having not connected in this case I had perhaps a slightly shittier time than I would have had among friends. Or something like that. And, by the way, I do know what it's like to be a bat. It's like being a chicken, only saltier.
6th April 2006

The shit in africa
I've been thinking of doing some travelling in africa, but it's the kind of shit you describe on your blog which makes me think twice about it. I dream of the natural beauty there; but I have nightmares about the shit in every city and town.
10th April 2006

Shit?
Hi Mazin, do you mean shit as in hard stuff or shit as in excrement? Because I wouldn't be discouraged from travelling here because of the....latter? I don't know. What do you mean? I think you should definitely come if you want to. Just come prepared. Whatever that means.
14th April 2006

Kwaho Tafo
Hiya, I have read your entries on Tafo with interest, as I spent 6 months there during 2004 and am hoping to return this summer to do some research for my undergrad dissertation (i'm studying social anthropology). I think I noticed a picture of Anna Sawiri there- did you stay with her? And did you meet Martin her son? Sorry for this barrage of questions but I had a few problems and am interested as to how the 'volunteer scene' is working. I love Anna very much and she truly nourished me but Martin took full advantage of having a single girl at his behest and I am interested to find out why volunteers are being sent to the town, when as you note the work really isn't all that substantial. Feel free to check out my blog from while I was there: http://charlie-faraway.livejournal.com/ The Ghana entries are the very earliest, from January 2004. Reading it now it seems somewhat facile but I always like to share what seemed strangely pristine experiences. Did you meet Charles Kofi Boafo? How is he? I hope your trip is going well, it sounds fabulous! All the best, Charlie
23rd April 2006

Hey you!
Hey Daniel, I've been meaning to write to you, as I have been following along with all your blog entries, but have just sat down to do it now. Better late than never. It sounds like quite an adventure you've been having over there. What a trip! I'm sure you'll come back very changed... but still with some of the 'Daniel' we all remember. What you've gone through and experienced in Africa sounds extraordinary and I give you a lot of credit. It's great that you've taken this time to go and do this... although I know your family misses you and will be thrilled to have you back in T.O. Things will probably seem quite dull when you get back after your escapades there. Israel will be another great experience... enjoy it all! I don't want to make this too long so I'll bring it to an end. Just wanted to say "hi". Looking forward to hearing more from you. You'll have a new little 'stranger' to meet when you get back. Love from T.O., Jodi (and Steve)

Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.04s; cc: 10; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0587s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb