Africa continues


Advertisement
Malawi's flag
Africa » Malawi
February 24th 2010
Published: February 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Feb 18 
Day 34
Today we packed up and headed further south to singa bay still a part of lake malawi in the town of livingstonia. When we got to camp we did our normal set up duties. Then the girls and I were debating on trying to do some kayaking or snorkling that avo. But as time was not on our side we just ended up sitting on the beach chatting until dinner time. I think I found my profession though the girls dad is an outdoor PE teacher. He takes kids on hikes, raftit, kayaking, surfing ect. Sounds like an awesome gig especially sine I wantted to be a normal PE teacher this one would be even better. Might have to find an Ozzie wife. 
Shelly and I built the camp fire that night which we all hung around after dinner and played the Mafia game. The girls and I slept ubder the stars I in my hammock and the girls just on the ground under mossie nets. But in the middle of the night it started pouring and we had to retreat to the truck.  

Feb 19
Day 35
Well it was still raining when we got up Kathy was keen on making breaky so we had to set up a tarp that hung from the side of the truc,k it was very makeshift but it served it's purpoe. After that wet breaky  we packed up and headed for Chipata, Zambia. It wasn't to bad of a drive and the border crossing went smoothly.  The best thing was we stopped at a big town and kathy gave us our lunch money back and we were able to go to nandos to have lunch.  It was a great treat.  That night we stayed at a camp called Mamma rula. It was a pretty cool campsite. We all commented about how nice the sites have been. That night I did a bit of a work out circuts and skipping rope. After dinner it started raining again so eveyone went off to bed. I was hopping it wasn't going to rain that night and I was planing in sleeping in my hammock so I never set up a tent. The girls said I could sleep with them but I decided to set up my hammock on the truck and see if I could sleep on there.  There are over head racks that are all cross wire and welded so I thought I'd hold and sure enough it did. I was pretty stoked. Haha 

Feb 20
Day 36
Today we had an early wake up and a long drive to Lusaka. We made the trip go by faster by playing the mafia game most of the way though. We also got to stop at a large strip mall where I finaly got to use fast cheap internt and catch up on my 150+ emails. We were only there for about and hour and a half so sorry if I didn't get to everyone. I had to sift through alot of stuff. 
When we got to camp we did our standard routine then I did an ab work out before dinner which was a decent spaghetti bolognese. After dinner we played some more of the mafia game before we nicked offto bed. Kathy offered Shelly, Leash and myself the spare beds in here dorm room. It was very nice of her. 

Feb 21
Day 37
Today we are leaded for Livingstone to set up camp for a few days and see Vic falls.
Well Vic falls was absolutely amazing. I don't know how to describe it, such a massive wall of water falling around 110metees. It's truely beautiful,peacfuly yet powerful. We were told to bring rain coats because of the spray. So we did, thinking it would be a light dusting. Wow we were way wrong the water falls so far and fast that it gets blasted back up in the air like a fire hose and would then fall back down on us like heavy heavy rainstorm. It was so awesome and amazing. We all got so wet, fully drenched like we just went swimming. It was so cool. 
When we got to camp Kathy gave us a little tour of the campsite because it is quite massive. There are 2 pools here a bar a restaurant and a small arena, needless to say it's pretty massive. We had a small information video of all of the activities we could do here. I picked rafting, dinner cruise,  the big air combo (bungy,bridge swing and slide) and the micro flight (hangglide thing with a motor) should be sick few days. After we sorted that out we ordered some sweet tour shirts then ordered some pizza as our last meal together on tour. Then we all nicked off to bed to rest for our adventours days ahead.

Feb 22
Day 38
Today a few of us work up early to take advantage of the free breaky with the camp then have a second breaky with the rafting group. After we fully stuffed ourselves we had a short briefing then were off and running. 
The trip started with a 30 min descent down a steep muddy and slippery George wall. 
Once made it down the guides set up the rafts and away we went. These rafts are much larger than normal and meant for more people so the guide had to set up this massive rowing station at the back of the boat so he could have propper control over it. The raipds were mostly 3s and a couple 4s. So it wasn't to crazy but it was very constant. Not like he jnile where there was a lot of down time ans paddeling though pools. This was much more active. It was everyones first time and they all loved it. We didn't get to flip but we did loss people a couple of times. Rapid 16 we lost everyone except leash, the guide aka babyface ans myself. We got the boat pretty much vertical and if leash and I let go we probably would have flipped. Anyway we had a mint "yardsale" we had to go rescue micky Shelly and this Canadian girl Michelle. A few rapids later we lost Shelly and micky again. It was halarious. 
Then durring some eddies we met up with the raft and tried taking over each others raft. Micky and I hopped over and knocked off Simon and Tom. Then later on thief guide camp over to out raft so I knocked him off ours the. Took OCR guide on their boat. It was awesome. I got to steer for about 20 mins or so through some small rapids. It was sick so much fun. I even got to flip their raft when the guide camp back on and he and I flipped it back over. It was so so sick. When we got out to go swimming I got sucked in some small whirlpools as well, I got a little dizzy and got pulled under but popped up a second later it was pretty rad. Then our last big rapid I thought our guide was going to try and flip us because he put Micky and I on the same side. We got in the rapid I looke back at the guide leaning hard out so I did the same to try and help out and a second later we boh bounched out. I realized later he was just trying to surf the rapid. Haha but we got sucked down stream where we swam to an Eddie to wait for our raft. Micky tried takig over ans steering but I think he failed becaue one of the kayak guides had to chase down the raft get in and steer it to us. It was so much fun. When we watched th video later we both fell off litterally at the same time. It was nuts. When we finished we got a cool cable ride out of the gorge. What a spectacular view. 
When we got back to camp we had a awesome local dish lunch while we watched the video and saw some photos. 
Then we had our avo boat dinner/booze cruise. Which was decent nothing great though because the meal wasn't very good and we didn't go up or down stream very far just back and forth. Also it was quite cloudy so we didn't have the best sunset that being said we all had a prett decent time hanging out chatting and carrying on. We met one of the other tour groups that has been following us since Nairobi. The girls on that tour apparently have been taking about me and my exercising and all wanting to rub oil on me.  They were quite forward about it as well. So I may be quite pampered by he time I get to cape town. Haha massages at every campsite is cool with me. Haha. After the cruise we hung out at he bar for the night carrying on till we all nicked off to bed. 

Feb 23
Day 39
Today we were meant to go to Zimbabwe to see the old Vic hotel and see the falls from that side. We sorted out the price for the visa but over looked coming back into Zambia and none of us have a multiple visa so we'd have to shell out more cash to get back as well so we canned that idea. We have been just chilling all day, I caught up on internet and on here a few of us have booked the micro flight for this avo. Micky j bird Simon shelly and I are doing it. Should be pretty sick.
We didn't do much the rest of the avo until we went microflighting. The girls and I made some lunch by the pool and I went for a dip afterwards. Then we got ready for our flight. 
We got picked up from reception around 3 and transfered to air stirp. We were told we needed to wait around 15 mins or so for the wind to die down. We ended up waiting around 30 mins before Micky was able to take off. They used 2 microlight planes so micky and jbird went first, then Simon followed by shell and then me. Wow what an amazing experience. It was unbeleiveable. 200 feet up and I was already satisified and stoked. It was awesome. We circled around and headed for the falls. And again all I can saw is WOW! What a way to see the falls. It was spectacular. When we went to see them the other day we only could see about a 1/5 of the falls because of all of the spray. It is massive around 1 and 1/4 miles or 1.7 K. We circled around a couple of times the driver pointed out Dr. Livingstone's island. Apparently you can walk there durring the dry season but now they have to take boats. But you get to go swimming in a pool right at the edge of the falls pratically looking right over them and if you let go of the rope your meant to hold onto you get swept over the falls crazy. We did a couple of cork screws over the falls which felt like we were free falling right into them. Unbeleiveable. On the way back the guy let me drive a bit which was sick. We passed by some hippos and crocs along the way. Shell got to see a herd of elephants in the bush but we couldn't find them. Even thought it was quite windy the landing was super smooth. As we came in I thought I was going to have to start running like the flintstones because of how open the thing is and howlow we were seated. I of course didn't but I 
 did feel the grass hit my feet. What a sick expericne I have always wantted to hangglide so I'm stoked I got to do that even though it was slightly cheating becaue it had an engine. It's basically a large hangglider with a go-cart attached to it with a lawn mower enginge on back.  
When we got back we hug out at the deck bar with everyone before we had our predeparture meeting. Where we met our 3 new paxs. 2 Americans, Dara and Helite, and one British Emma all girls so I'm the only guy now but were picking up a few more in 10 days or so. After our meeting the girls and I made some decent pasta dinner then hung out at the bar chatting till we all nicked off to bed. 

Advertisement



Tot: 0.302s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0663s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb