PIH/APZU Malawi Flash Mob!


Advertisement
Malawi's flag
Africa » Malawi » Southern
November 14th 2012
Published: December 19th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Following the "flash mob" craze of 2009/2010, I always secretly dreamed of being part of a flash mob myself. There was one flash mob in particular that inspired me the most, which was organized by a volunteer in Haiti following the 2010 earthquake:
.

This past week, I was finally able to accomplish this life-goal, thanks to the help of a few other PIH volunteers/staff members and a whole hoard of Malawian children. With World AIDS Day only a few weeks away, a group of fellow PIH-ers and I decided to create a flash mob here in Neno as a 'challenge' to other global health groups working around the world. The song, we decided, would be Taio Cruz's "Dynamite." After a few days of choreographing and practicing, we finally decided to institute our flash mob during a community event for World Diabetes Day. I would tell you how it went but, instead, I think it might be easier for you to take a look for yourself. Enjoy! 😊

Flash Mob:



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



26th December 2012

:)
What a pity, the video is blocked here in Germany, so I can't watch it.
10th April 2013

Supply chain success?
I really enjoyed reading your PIH Malawi blog, especially your insight about supply chain and accurate pharmacy inventory being a huge piece of the puzzle. So I am disappointed that the blog seems to end here. How did it go? Were you able to stay long enough despite the challenges you describe (heat, big bugs &no roads ) to make a dent?

Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 17; qc: 90; dbt: 0.1152s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb