Christmas in Malawi


Advertisement
Malawi's flag
Africa » Malawi » Southern » Monkey Bay
December 28th 2007
Published: December 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Christmas pud!Christmas pud!Christmas pud!

I was missing the rest of my Christmas dinner
Christmas in Malawi (Monday 24th Dec - present)
My christmas in Malawi -
8pm Christmas Eve - 4am Christmas Day - Venice Beach, Malawi (yes, you heard me right!). We drank Kuche Kuche and once again tried to dance to Malawian music.
Christmas Morning - I opened my present (thanks mum and dad), with the help of the 3 other volunteers (we were sharing the love). I followed this up with a wee dip in Lake Malawi where I ended up playing ball games with some of the local kids. They sang a little Christmas song to us afterwards. I have no idea what they were saying but it sounded nice.
Christmas Lunch - Fried Chicken and chips (I know you’re jealous) followed by a Mars bar that I have been saving for a special day. I ate half as I am saving the rest.
Christmas Afternoon - A drink on ‘Chauncy Maples’, a floating bar down at Monkey Bay harbor, followed by a reggae band back at Venice Beach.
Christmas Dinner - Sausages, beans, cabbage and that horrible flour/water mush that has been haunting me ever since I arrived in Africa. Thankfully we had a mini Asda Christmas pud which we split between 4 of us (thanks for that pressie Helen!).
Boxing Day and ever since - Back and forth from Monkey Bay hospital. Unfortunately not only for work but to visit friend and fellow volunteer Steve. He has malaria. He has been feeling terrible but has been on a quinine drip for a few days now and is a little better (though not much). The good thing is, he is being well taken care of. He has his own room (one advantage of being a mzungu) and has been receiving lots of visitors (co-ordinators, cooks, our driver, his football friends, our hospital friends, and pretty much anyone he has ever met since arriving in Malawi). We have been doing a little bit of work at the hospital (just the usual snake bites, accidents caused by matola drivers accidentally running over their passengers’ feet, abcesses everywhere etc etc), but we have been spending most of our time at Steve’s bedside. Fingers crossed he will be better soon.
We had planned another trip to Cape Maclear for New Year but we are waiting to see how Steve is.
I hope everyone has a great start to 2008! My apologies as always for not responding to emails. I am reading them all (after I have printed them off and taken them back to the house!). It is great to hear from you. I will try and reply when I can.
Joanna x


Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0668s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb