Party time


Advertisement
Malawi's flag
Africa » Malawi » Southern » Blantyre
December 21st 2007
Published: December 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

The project manager had written up a neatly timed programme, but I'm learning that everything here runs to its own drum beat.

Just as I thought we were about to start, a bigger music system is suddenly hauled in and the men get busy setting it up and pushing bare wires into wall sockets! Two mics are positioned at the front of the now beautifully decorated hall, the primary+ children are ready in their chairs with the infants on a mat at the front, and now we can start. The project manager who was meant to introduce the day has had to make a visit elsewhere so one of the administrators stands in.

A prayer is said and a few words, then the mic is passed to me. As I speak my words are translated into Chichewa by a member of staff - I talk a bit about the large nativity picture on the wall that we created the day before, and say that the party is about celebrating Christmas and that I want everyone to have a great time.

We move quickly onto the games. First we play pass the parcel - the infants in one circle at the front and the primary+ kids in two circles at the back. As they unwrap the layers lollies, chocolates and streamers fall out - they are so excited already. It is funny that on finding a streamer, as with anything, their first reaction is to put it quickly into their pockets to keep it safe for later. But I encourage them to throw the streamers across the room making pretty patterns.

Just as we are about to start musical chairs, the power goes out (which happens fairly frequently) so I change tact and explain the game 'dead lions' - which is where the children have to lie on the floor and be as still as they can, and anyone who moves is out of the game. Having seen the pass the parcel presents they are now very serious about winning! Needless to say the primary+ kids are so good at dead lions - and can't be persuaded to move by any amount of tickling of belly or foot - that I have to award 17 prizes!

The power comes back on so we continue with musical chairs with a lot of pushing, shoving and total competitiveness - I feel cruel for issuing prizes when these simple objects - pencil / ruler / sharpener are everything here. But the prizes certainly add to the fun and excitement - their faces light up with these small treasures in their hands. (And I have tried to bring enough prizes for everyone).

Musical statues is similarly played with perfection and I find it impossible to judge, but at least we get down to about 10 winners this time.

I then try to move onto a dance competition - but sadly the local journalists are waiting in an office to ask me questions - after being told three times that they are waiting, I reluctantly leave the party to speak with them. We paid the journalists to come, which is the way it's done here, as this helps publicise the project work and get wider support. There are two men in the office sitting with the project manager - one is from a newspaper and another from a Christian radio station. The newspaper guy has forgotten to bring a pen and borrows one from the project manager, and then writes onto a small scrap of paper. They want to know why I have come here, how much money I am giving and my message for the people.

I speak from the heart (ok this bit is cheesy) that I'm here as I feel humanity is one 'family' and people suffering are my brothers and sisters - that I feel injustice that life chances in the UK and the developed world are so much better (mentioning the HIV/Aids pandemic) and want to help in the small ways that I can. I explain that the money I bring isn't just from me, but 40 - 50 people who donated back in the UK. I also manage to say what the project manager asked me to - that ALL citizens (and companies as corporate citizens - well I couldn't leave that bit out could I?) are responsible for caring for the community. As I leave the journalists I wish them well with their careers - they tell me their dream is to work for the BBC - so I say I'll keep an eye out for them.

Back at the party, the administrator is going through the list of names and discovers that about 20 extra children from the village who should not be there have crept in. They are pulled away crying and begging to stay (it is hard but we have only budgeted the food for 130 children). They are locked outside the orphanage, and later when I go past they are still there, their arms sticking through holes in the gates calling for me to let them in.

We just have time for me to teach the children 'Simon says' and play it a few times before it is time for the formal speeches to begin. I am asked to sit on the stage again next to the other speakers. The project manager goes first and welcomes me as the guest of honour, followed by the Chair of trustees - they both thank me for the party and all that has been given. It is written on the programme that the King of the village will speak next. She is an older woman, in her 70's perhaps, in very worn clothes and has an unassuming presence - hence I do not realise before I am told that this quiet woman sitting next to me is the Head of the village. (Later I find out that whether male or female the head is always called the King - and the new King is elected on the deathbed of their predecessor. If a King dies before a new successor has been elected, it is up to the elders to make this decision).

The King does not want to speak so the mic is passed to me. I am conscious that the children's food has been laid out on the floor and don't want to delay them from eating too long. In my talk I say that this is my first Christmas away from home, and thank everyone for making me feel like I'm here with new friends and family. I also thank them for having me to their party and how I'll always remember this special 2007 Christmas in Malawi. They clap. After the project manager has spoken again we eat.

There is nsemia, beef mince, beans, salad, rice and chicken. And after this we bring out crisps, biscuits, sweets, chocolates, lollies, and fizzy drinks. I try to pass round trays of crisps and sweets but the children grab handfuls at a time and food spills everywhere. I have to place the crisps and sweets into their hands so that it is fair (children immediately hide what they have been given to get more). Hands are begging on all sides! And what looked like a vast quantity of food disappears within a few short minutes. As I try to pass packets of nuts to the adults to share, they are also put into pockets for later. The King half fills a carrier bag of crisps to take with her. I give out party poppers to the staff and on three we pull them together over the children with great cheers.

Another journalist from a radio station is waiting in the office, so I have to leave the party again to speak with him. We have a brief chat before he starts recording my voice on a dictaphone - I presume this is to help his notes, but at the end he tells me this will be broadcast on the radio.

When I return to the party I explain we will pull the crackers now. I organise the primary+ children in a large outer circle and the infants in a smaller circle in the middle. We give out the metallic hats that came with the crackers - again some children hide theirs to try to get another. But once everyone has them on their heads - the hall is shining with children and adults in their hats. Each person is given a cracker and I show them how to cross their arms over to make a continuous circle of crackers going round. The adults also make a line and on the count of three we pull the crackers. There is great shouts of joy and happy faces. The infants need some help with theirs, and then everyone is playing with the cracker novelties.

It is now coming up to 3pm when the party is due to finish so the men quickly bring through the made up school bags with the Christmas gifts inside. Each child is called up one by one and I shake their hand wishing them a happy Christmas and give them their bag. The infants are called first and then the older children. Sadly one class group has been left of the list for bags (but fortunately some children who had had bags made up for them are not present due to illness etc) so these are given instead to the children who didn't have one (unfortunately with the wrong names written in marker pen!).

When the children have gone I give out the festive food sacks to the staff and volunteers. They are so pleased to get this food to take home for the holidays. One member of staff had been left off the list so I have to give the project manager's sack to them, saying I would buy something else for him on the weekend.

Everyone was gone and the hall was empty and still - the floor covered in colourful papers and bits of cracker - the sign on a good party!

Despite the glitches and mayhem I think it went as well as it could, all things considered. I needed to go back to my hostel and sit down with a cold beer!














Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0542s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb