The day before the big day


Advertisement
Malawi's flag
Africa » Malawi » Southern » Blantyre
December 20th 2007
Published: December 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Once we had finished making up the school bags with the Christmas goods. We started decorating the hall. Tinsel, balloons, crape papers twisted together, steamers and even toilet paper was strung about over string tied across the room.

The primary+ kids sat on the stage area watching everything being put up. I was keen to get the children involved in the preparations, and as it's a Christian orphanage, had decided to get them to make a large picture of the nativity scene.

A few days ago I had cut out some silver stars with some of the infants (although the safety scissors were a bit difficult for them to use). Some volunteers helped to stick four large sheets together and cut out shapes to make a stable. Then a group of primary boys stuck the silver stars on and drew a baby Jesus, Mary, three wise men and some animals which they stuck onto the papers. Then a group of girls carried on drawing, sticking and going crazy with glitter! I was really pleased with a lovely work of art which so many had been involved in creating. We carefully carried it over to the wall to be stuck up near the stage - I think they were really proud of their efforts and all wanted to have photos taken by it. Some of the girls covered their faces with glitter. Even as the girls mopped the floor the party spirit was rising.

Then it was out on foot with three others to order food from the village - rice, beans, tomatoes, and chickens from a local house with a large coop outside crammed full of chickens. As an understatement - animal welfare is much to be desired here. The beef was to be bought first thing tomorrow before the party.

It was today, the day before the party, that the project manager informed me that I was responsible for an hour of games and that I had a 15 minute slot on the programme to make a speech to everyone! We had talked briefly before about some journalists coming along (as it's practice here to pay journalists to attend - as they cannot afford to travel around without such payments), so we discussed what their questions would be and what the project manager would like me to say. He asked me to emphasise that it is every citizen's responsibility to care for orphans and to look after each other, not just the NGOs - he said this is what people need to hear most. A wise message I thought.

In the evening I made one final party shopping trip - now with the new agenda of getting prizes, wrapping papers for pass the parcel, and Christmas crackers for everyone. I had asked the project manager if he knew what a cracker was and he didn't, so I thought it would be fun for them all to experience this. I grabbed some smarter clothes too - as with the things I'd brought from the UK for the orphanage I hadn't packed many clothes and they were all very casual.

I fought my tiredness until the early hours making four pass the parcels and sorting through the bags of prizes. Finally everything was done and I was exhausted already!

















Advertisement



Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0908s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb