Road to mzuzu –nakhata bay/ arrival to Mzuni


Advertisement
Malawi's flag
Africa » Malawi » Northern » Mzuzu
June 1st 2010
Published: June 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

This morning I woke up to the heavy rainfall, I was a little disappointed because I had hoped to take my first swim in the lake. After breakfast we headed towards the pottery shop down the road. Here we got to witness the local artist and potters at work. We latter embarked in our passenger van to continue our drive to Mzuzu.On our way to Mzuzu the scenery just got better and better as our van made its way up the mountain passes. Near the top we drove beside a “rubber tree” forest, where the rubber is made. The people on the side of the road where selling soccer- sized rubber balls. Before arriving to Mzuzu we took a detour and lunch into Nakhata bay, a beautiful beach town along Lake Malawi. Our final drive to Mzuzu followed zig-zag and winding roads on the mountain top with spectacular view of the valleys below. It was definitely the nicest drive I’ve ever taken. After I stepped out of the van when we finaly arrived at our guest house on the Mzuzu university (aka, Mzuni) campus, I noticed the very cool temperature of Mzuzu. The temperature here resembles that of an early fall in Canada, such that sometimes it is hard to imagine I’m living in the tropics. Getting settled in our house, we followed up with a extensive clean-up as we found a dead mouse in the cupboard…sick! I had to quickly get used to the fact that the average living conditions here in Africa are sub-par from those back home. This would soon be reaffirmed after killing several spiders, ants and cockroaches. Surprisingly I still slept well that night...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0466s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb