Kande Beach - Malawi


Advertisement
Malawi's flag
Africa » Malawi » Lake Malawi » Kandi Beach
November 23rd 2009
Published: November 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hello again!

We are now at Kande Beach in Malawi (which acutally has nothing to do with Candy, much to my dissapointment).

Chitimba Beach was really fun! I really enjoyed myself there! It really doesn't hurt to be spending my days on a beach at all...

The afternoon after I posted last, was pretty uneventful....until...one of the guys on the trip (Ivan) is really into hypnotism, and he was attempting to hypnotize Michelle, but she got a little freaked out and stopped. So I asked him if he could try to hypnotize me, since I have never been, and wasn't really sure if it was real or not.

So it turned into basically the entertainment for the group for the afternoon! It was so strange, apparently it went on for about an hour and a half. I remember everything, but it was so weird to be hypnotized. What was cool about it, and kind of strange, was that I felt 100% in control of my actions the whole time...
Anyways, Brittney and Vicky got a few videos of it...and it was definitely more embarassing than I had thought....but still all in good fun!
After the 'show' I did a little more souvenir shopping right outside of the gates.
That morning a few of us went for a walk to the nearest little town, so that we could buy a Malawi SIM card. Which turned out to be quite a problem, to get one that worked...but eventually we did....oh but then its impossible to get service at Chitimba beach so it was a little bit pointless.
Anyways, my number has now changed to 03842189 and I think the country code is +265 but I'm not 100% sure about that one...
So that was the afternoon, and night we had a really delicious dinner, and went to bed pretty early.

We left Chitimba beach quite early, and spent most of the day on the truck again.

We stopped at about 10 am to do food group shopping for the next couple of days and we also went to the Mzuzu market, which is basically like a market FULL of salvation army clothes.
We are having a 'fancy dress' night in about a week, where we draw names, and whoevers name we get we can dress in whatever we want, and they have to wear that outfit for the entire night.
It was really hilarious to go around and buy the most ridiculous outfits possible for someone else to wear. However, I am a little nervous about what someone has bought for me :S

We drove again for an hour or so and then stopped for lunch.
Then more driving, and a stop to do some road-side souvenir shopping.

We finally arrived at Kande beach around 3 in the afternoon.
We set up our tents and just relaxed. Around 5:30 a few people were going for a run, so I decided to take advantage and go along with them (since I wouldn't feel comfortable going off the property by myself). Even at 5:30 it was still SO hot...it was really uncomfortable, and also it was running on sand...which i HATE! But it still felt good to do a little activity after 6 weeks of basically none...

We all had big plans to go for a long swim today out to the island that is off the shore (while one person was going to paddle boat with us incase anyone got tired) and spend the day on this island - apparently theres rocks you can jump off into the water. However, today is quite cloudy and windy and the water is TOO rough so we have decided not to go today.

Today is also the muchly anticipated 'pig day'. This morning a few people got up early to go see the pig killed - I didn't! Although I am not going to be eating the pig, today seems like it is going to be fun, everyone is excited about pig day, and everyone takes turns watching the pig cook (except for those not eating it... thank goodness).

I still am having no luck with my camera, so unfortunately I wont be able to post any recent pictures (since I don't have many)... and will just have to post them after I return home and have gotten a copy of Britts pictures...

We are here for another 2 nights and then we are off to Liliongwe for 2 or 3 nights I think...

That's pretty much all for now!

I'll write again soon!
xo
-Denise


Advertisement



24th November 2009

Hi Hon I'll be anxious to hear about the dress-up night - sounds like a hoot. Tell us more about the scenery and especially the people as you travel from country to country. You know I love hearing about the children. Glad you guys didn't venture out for that swim in rough water - sounds a little too dangerous. Remember my reoccurring advice to "STAY SAFE"! LOVE Momma

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0445s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb