The final leg :(/:)


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya
May 5th 2011
Published: May 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Heey there!
So one month till home time and I’m sucking in as much culture I can… it seems a tad weird that the longer I’m here the more culture chock actually sets in.
Nonetheless, I’m still loving every minute of my Africa time. For Easter weekend Sarah(my roommate) Jess & Loretta (other volunteers) and I went to Mombassa to soak up some rays and just relax on the beach for the weekend. It was absolutely stunning… picture those white sandy beaches you always see on pamphlets for five star resorts and multiply it by a hundred… you will probably measure up to about half of how amazing Diani beach was. Not even close to kidding.
As for the orphanage I have no idea how I’m going to say goodbye when the time comes… my baby girl Kayla has grown so much it’s ridiculous… when I met her a month ago she was just skin and bones and about the length of my elbow to my fingertip… now she has a double chin, rolly arms, a big Buddha belly and is almost the length of my entire arm. Man that kid can eat! And she is such a good girl she never cries. She does, however know how to scream… a sound you only hear from the time you take the empty spoon from her mouth to the time you spoon up more porridge to when the food is back in her mouth… and she definitely has a good set of lungs on her.
Today I spent my morning learning the ABC’s counting to twenty and cleaning up spilled chai before nap time with my terrible troupe of three year old’s… I’m just kidding; they aren’t terrible they are actually quite adorable and all of them totally hilarious! <3
As for the weather… it has been wonderful and sunny almost my entire trip… until we got back from Mombassa and it has rained almost every other hour since… and the rain just makes the heat worse… I must have lost ten pounds from sweat alone!
So all in all I am very happy to be here and I’m taking tones of pictures to show you all when I get home. I do have to say there are many many many of Kayla… I’m a tad biased :P


Advertisement



Tot: 0.187s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0533s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb