November 3rd


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya
November 3rd 2009
Published: November 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hello Hello Everyone...

I feel a little more pressure to make good blog entries now the the town of Hickson is following! But thanks for passing that information on Bob!
Hello to you as well Smelly! I did get both of the comments....but before the comments are displayed, I get the chance to review them...which is a great feature I think, considering some of the things you characters are probably thinking! hahah Thanks again for reminding me about the baseball game....don't worry...Carl wont let me forget it either. My boy Jeter is doing quite well though I hear...so at least I still have that! hahah. Have an awesome party on the 10th...and remember your off button!!
Thank you so much for writing and following Nancy! It was really nice to hear from you!
Lori....I mentioned to my dad about adopting that little girl...and he reminded me that she wont fit in my suitcase to bring home...but she is ADORABLE! Speaks very little english right now...but these kids are amazingly fast learners! I'm sure she would love to have two adorable little brothers!! Thanks for writing!
Joan - your absolutley right. Brittney was a little weak in the corners. She pretty much got owned in that game of Mini Sticks...but it was fun to watch anyways. Although the broken glass and garbage we were playing on was a bit of a concern, the bare-footed children didn't seem to mind too much, and luckily there were no accidents or injuries!
Aunt Sharon - I'm glad you're feeling better! My mom has been keeping me posted a little bit on the H1N1 clinics around Belleville as well. We actually visited a clinic/hospital today, as you may read, and that was quite the experience. I'm sure you would have found it quite interesting!

Anyways....here's the update:

Sunday was quite similar to Saturday. We slept in a little bit (till about 10:00) and took our time getting ready in the morning. We spent the day at Junction again, which always seems to be quite the ordeal at Dormans (coffee shop) to get a place to sit where we can get a connection, and then to be able to plug in! But we seem to manage...
The hyrdo went out around 5:00 pm, so Brittney and I just talked by the candle-light. We ate dinner in pretty much darkness, and then went back to our room to pass some more time before bed. My dad and Grandma Wilker called around 8:00 which was really great to talk to them!

Monday: Sunday night I didn't fall asleep until about 3:00 in the morning. I think it might be the Malaria pills that are giving me trouble falling asleep. Or it might be the fact that I'm sleeping basically on a wooden board....not quite sure. Anyways, I was pretty tired and not feeling great Monday morning, but got up and got ready anyways. We went to the office and met with Kilonzi. He was telling us that it was his son's birthday today and that he would like to see him, so Britt and I told him we would take him. So we spent the morning at the Nursery, and took a bunch of colouring books and crayons and pencils and toys for them, and they were really happy! They also LOVED getting their picture taken and wanted to see the pictures on my camera.
So around 2:30 we left for the far side of Nairobi with Kilonzi. It took about an hour and a half to get there. Britt and I were starting to get a little worried about time because we aren't really supposed to be out of the house after 5:30ish....especially on Matatus....especially with our cameras! But anyways, Kilonzi had a nice visit with his two sons, who were really cute. They made us the delicious Chai tea (Lisa you would LOVE this tea) and we had some lemon cake for Voti's birthday. This cake was the first dessert we've been served since we got here...and it was AMAZING!
We also got to meet the boys soccer coach. He coaches something like 5 boys soccer teams. He spoke to us about the importance of soccer in the boys' lives, because without it, they seem to get themselves involved with crime and drugs. So I think he give his time for free to these boys every weekend for practices and games. They were quite passionate about the soccer.

So we didn't end up leaving their house until about 6:00...which was a little stressful for Brittney and I. We felt safe though having Kilonzi with us. So the first Matatu was AWESOME! Although I knew it wasn't exactly the best place for us to be....I couldn't help having fun! So the Matatus...at about 6:30, or whenever it gets dark out, they all have black lights on the inside of the windows. So they turn on the black lights and CRANK the tunes! It was honestly like being in a club.....on wheels....I was having way too much fun.
But then we had to switch onto another matatu and walk a bit. This wasn't quite as fun...walking downtown Nairobi in the dark...in the rain....on what seemed like a busy Toronto street...with my purse & camera. But Britt and I just stayed close together and close to Kilonzi as well.
The second matatu ripped us off BIG TIME. Apparently, we are learning, there is no governmental control over these matatus (the pricing anyways) so we're not sure if it was because it was raining, or because we are white and assumed to be rich...that they charged us 4 TIMES the price....each!! So instead of the second matatu being 20 shillings....it was 80!
It sucked...but when you put it in perspective...80 shillings is only about a dollar....for a 1 hour bus ride...but still...we weren't happy!

So we got home and Maggie had just started watching Titanic. We joined her, but the movie cut out near the end so we didn't get to finish it.

Today (Tuesday) was awful for me. I have been so sick today! I'm not sure if I ate something bad, or if it was just from not sleeping at all two nights ago, and still not sleeping well last night...but either way...it's not fun!
We met Kilonzi at the office, and he told us he had not slept at all and was very sick. So we were getting the opportunity to see a Kenyan hospital. He also mentioned that the Karen Police Station was right by the clinic so we would get to see that as well, and if I had any questions they would need to be written down beforehand.
So we went back home to get some money for the matatus, and left around 10. I already wasn't feeling well....but decided to go anyways.
This clinic/hospital was really something! There was quite a bit of waiting around, and no real order whatsoever. People were just jumping in line whereever they felt like it. It was about 2 hours before Kilonzi got to go inside. This is when I started to feel terrible! He told us to follow him, and we did....but I had to keep running outside because I was about to throw up.
I felt bad being sick....because everyone that was waiting outside to get in probably was a whole lot sicker than myself...but I was just so dizzy and pale, it was really bad.
Finally I asked for a bathroom so that I could puke, and they opened the staff bathroom for me which was really nice.....at first.....As she was opening the door for me, she warned me that the water wasn't working. So basically people were using the toilet, but not able to flush....well if I wasn't going to puke before, that smell certainly didn't help!!!
It was really awful...but I'm sure you don't need all the disgusting details.
Anyways, Kilonzi got a shot for pneumonia and was given a prescription. We still ended up going to visit the police station, but all I could think about was lying down in bed. I still got to meet with Corporal Richard somebody, who was happy to answer all of the questions I had written down. They are a service of about 100 officers (he didn't want to give me the exact number) and 0 civilian employees. They police over 300,000 people. The major crimes they deal with are Robberies, Break and Enters, Thefts, and Stock Thefts (stealing Massai cows.....i would NOT want to see Frank if someone tried to steal his cow!). The building was about 3 rooms. At the time they had 15 officers working, but at night they have more than that on.

After the Karen Police Department, Kilonzi went to check the price of his prescription. It was 600 shillings (roughly 8 dollars), and he could not afford it, so he didn't get them.
We got back home and I went straight to bed. I slept for close to an hour, and then Britt and I came to Junction and here we are!

Tomorrow we are doing an AIDS Awareness March with Kilonzi in the city center, which we are really looking forward to. Apparently the goal is to get a message to Obama....
Anyways, I'm hoping to get lots of sleep tonight (cross your fingers for me) so I'm feeling better for tomorrow.

We are planning to come back here on Thursday afternoon after we spend the morning at the school again!

I'll write again then!!

Bye everyone,
Thanks again so much for writing and following! It makes me very happy to hear from yoU!!

Love,
-Denise

Advertisement



3rd November 2009

so cute
I want a cheetah!!! How adorable. Miss you lots Denise...glad you're having fun!! XOXOXOXOXOXOXOXO
3rd November 2009

Concerned Gramma
Hi Denise Sorry you are not feeling well I hope you get better fast .Every day I check your blog You must feel very proud that you have such a following Thank God for the internet. How much longer are you in this location ? We have 2.5 weeks and we are leaving for Fla. I hope I can keep in touch, We sure are going to miss you and Jason at out xmas I have the flu but I hope iam getting better every time I cough I think the top of my head is going to come off I hope you are still thinking about Fla It would be great to see you and Lisa Take car Denise stay safe and healthy Love you Gramma
3rd November 2009

Big spit
Hi Denise Sorry to hear you had the big spit today. I was reading about Australian euphimisms in preparation my trip later this month, and found out that the term "big spit" is sometimes used instead of vomit. (hence the subject line). As an unpaid diagnostician who's opinion is worth exactly what you pay, I would suggest that you and Kilonzi may have both been affected by same infectious agent. It sounds as though you had some similar symptoms at the same time. Did you two eat something that Brit did not? If it was a Staph toxin via food, your illness should be brief. Make sure you get lots of safe water into you. Nothing too crazy going on back here, Bioniche is celebrating it's 30th anniversary and we have our Annual General Meeting this week so lots preparation for that. Mom's working at another flu clinic on Thursday, Ev's playing hockey again tonight. They came from behind for a win on Sunday and should be able to pull off another victory tonight. I walked Brodie so much on the weekend she was acting stiff, but seems fine now. I thing she's a bit of a wusss. Bye for now - Love Dad
3rd November 2009

How ya feelin?
Hi Hon I sure hope you are on the mend. I don't like the sounds of you not feeling well. That bathroom experience must have been awful. I wish I could be there to give you some flat ginger ale and toast. I know dad filled you in on a bunch of stuff so I'll wait a day or two before sending another email. I was right about your Yankees losing last night. Oh well, better for them to win it in New York anyway. Lots of love, Mom.
4th November 2009

Hang In Denise!!
Hey Denise I really hope that your feeling better today and you are able to get some rest. Your one tough cookie!! good for you for sticking it out and making it through your day. Your visit to the clinic and the police station sound interesting no running water in the bathroom, toilet that did'nt flush and your already feeling like crap.....!!! I'd puke too. Looks like you have another busy day tomorrow with the March. Hope your feeling better. I,m just starting to get my energy back I am going to try swimming tommorow maybe just 30 mins to start out see how the legs feel Take Care Denise, my thoughts are with you Love Aunt Sharron
4th November 2009

try again
I think my last comment got censored. Not sure if the A. S. character (friend) is part of it, but it's all a joke! (until someone loses an eye) I never mentioned that I met A. S.'s mother Dianne Aeria (she re-married.most people call her 'Lady Di'.) But I go off topic... I wanted to tell you about our office experiences. I am now sitting in your desk. I think I like it! You can see and hear everything going on. Mark is where he was and Carl sits in the corner with Bland behind the Berlin wall. Danielle is now in Niagara Falls. Mark, I and her did a road trip last week up to the Regional Headquarters to get the H1N1. She wanted someone to go with cause she is prone to faint getting needles. She had to go into a room so she could be laying down when she got it. Did not faint but she flinched and the needle cut her. Otherwise we all did good. Mark only cried for about 10 minutes, overall he was very brave though. ... A.S. and myself continue to watch your exploits. You are our hero! Keep it up and as always. Be Careful.
4th November 2009

Peace Hippie
Peace Hippie. Hope you are feeling better, but maybe you just need a bit more protein in your diet (may I suggest an all you can eat safari) Did you get out to bungie jump yet, or go to the falls. I know Mark T cant wait to hear about that. he tends to be a little overprotective of you. We are already preparing our Christmas luncheon and without our resident vegan present we are looking at quite a good menu.(mostly meat).

Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0202s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb