Out of Africa - In the Mara


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Rift Valley Province » Masai Mara NP
September 27th 2009
Published: October 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Flying into the Masai MaraFlying into the Masai MaraFlying into the Masai Mara

This was my first real glimpse of Great Migration spectacle. These are Wildebeests that have just crossed the River.
My second leg of the adventure started when I bid farewell to Edgar on the evening of the 22nd and flew into Masai Mara the following morning.

No words can really describe the Masai Mara. It is one of the most beautiful, out of this world places I have ever been. And I don't say that lightly. From the moment you arrive you know this is a special place. It is romantically intoxicating, from the landscape to the literally millions of animals that live there. You get the immediate sense that you have left the human world and entered the animal kingdom. From the smells of the wild, like as though you are on a massive farm, to the smells of fresh and not so fresh kills that litter the plains. You are told to stay in your vehicles at all times unless your guide says it is ok to get out. When you see the picture you understand why.

I arrived in the height of the wildebeest and zebra migration. 1.5 million wildebeest and .5 million zebras migrate from the Serengeti in Tanzania to the Masai Mara in Kenya. Arriving at the airstrip it looked as though I
The Welcome WagonThe Welcome WagonThe Welcome Wagon

I knew I was in for the Royal Treatment when you are greeted with champagne.
was landing in the middle of the entire herd.

I was staying at a tented camp called Kichwa Tembo. It was where Out of Africa was filmed. It was paradise in a word. I had a great guide, Charity, and a wonderful South African family who were on the game drives with me. I was very lucky that they brought their 6 yr old son, Callahn, because he was an excellent spotter.

I stayed at Kichwa for 4 days and 3 nights and went on 6 game drives. I really can't do the Mara justice through words. Hopefully my thousand plus pictures and video will give you a sense of what it is like to be in the animal kingdom. I was extremely lucky to hit the wildebeest migration(named as one of the new 7 Wonders of World by ABC in 2006), because it truly is a sight to behold. There were wildebeest for a far as the eye could see for the first three days. It was a sea of animals that would sweep over the plains like the tide coming in and out. One of the big highlights during the migration in the Mara are the river crossings. Hundreds, sometime thousands of wildebeests will line up at the river's edge waiting for one to be brave enough to jump in. Once one goes, they all go. It is quite dangerous crossing the river, as they can break a leg, drown or get eaten by the many crocodiles that are waiting in the water. I was very lucky to have seen four crossings during my four days there.

I arrived back in Nairobi on the 26th to spend one last night there and bring to an end Leg 2 of my journey. Next up the Leg 3, The Sunday Drive to Cape Town, South African.



Additional photos below
Photos: 88, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

My little tent.My little tent.
My little tent.

This is not the picture that first comes to mind when you say you were tenting.
Incredible Mara mornings.Incredible Mara mornings.
Incredible Mara mornings.

This is view I woke up to every morning.


5th October 2009

Holy Wildebeest Batman!
I can't wait to see pictures!! Sounds like you're having the time of your life. You'll have lots of stories for Eliza one day.
19th October 2009

Mara
You sure have a way with words Joel. That place sounds soooo inspiring. Take care. Michel
18th June 2010

wow
wow i like this!:-)

Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 12; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0541s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb