Jambo! I'm off to Kenya


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Rift Valley Province » Masai Mara NP
August 2nd 2008
Published: August 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Jambo everyone,
Well the time has come for me to pack my bags one last time in this amazing year of travelling and head to the Masai Mara in Kenya. I will be going on a 3 week service trip with students, teachers and a couple of parents to live in the Emroi Joi community, help build a school house, teach as part of a summer education camp, and spend some time with the mamas, children and community members in an exciting and challenging experience as we learn from each other. The trip is being organized by Adventure Learning Experiences which is run by my friend Greg Rogers in partnership with Free the Children which is an NGO run by Craig and Marc Kielburger. We will be flying to London on Saturday night, then flying to Nairobi for a short stay and a visit with the giraffes before we make our trek south toward the Tanzanian border to the Emroi Joi community where we will be for 3 weeks.

I have wanted to go to Africa for so long and I have been involved with the program for this trip for over a year now. This is such a dream come true to work and live in Kenya and to go on safari! As we will be staying very remotely in the Masai Mara, I will have limited internet access, but I will try to update as I can and will have to post some of my comments and reflections upon my return.

Thank you to those of you who have donated both school supplies and money as well as love, hugs, prayer and friendship and family support, all of which have been so important in this journey. While there is unfortunately no room for you to come with me literally in my suitcase, I hope you will be as excited to hear about my stories and adventures upon my return. I will be sure to give the giraffes some kisses for all of you. Not to worry, I will be safe! Any prayers for the journey would be awesome though as well as happy thoughts for an incredible experience.

I have learned this year that in order to understand the world, you have to live "in the world", travel "in the world" and be "in the world" -- I am truly blessed to be able to do this trip and do all these three things and I can't wait to lie in my bed and hear all the interesting animal sounds, to hear the shouts and singing of the Kenyan children and to be a part of what will be an incredible community in Emroi Joi. I am fully ready for this experience to change my outlook, challenge my thoughts and experiences, teach me new things and continue to motivate me to make a difference in the world!

Hope you are all enjoying your summer adventures wherever you may be.

Asante sana (thank you so much)Take care. Tutaonana (see you soon)


love Katy
xoxoxoxox

Advertisement



Tot: 0.245s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0447s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb