Every Day Is Better


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Rift Valley Province » Lake Nakuru NP
January 13th 2007
Published: January 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

"Ryan! Ryan!"

I hear Ken yelling my name through the halls as I shake dreams from my sleep. He is the wild-eyed hostel owner and I had been bugging him daily to get me on a trip as soon as he could.

"I've been looking for you for 18 hours...Are you ready for safari?" He peers in with his pink-face and dishevelled hair, evidently having had another long night.

Of course I wanted to , but I hestitated because I thought it was going to be with this group of obnoxious British 18-yeard olds that I was sharing a dorm room with. I was at my wits end with this group. I got to the point of fantasizing about how i would kill them.
I had been trying my damnedest not to bludgeon them to death with my toothbrush. But then I thought it might be better and more artful to take the strings off the hostel guitar and quietly strangle them in their sleep.

At any rate, I answered Ken, "Well, would it be with this group?" I asked this right in front of a couple of them.

"No, their going to Mt. Kenya."

"Count me in!!" And jumped out of bed newly invigorated at the newly forming adventure. "I'll be ready in 10 minutes!"

Outside I met Barry and Esther from Toronto. I couldn't have asked for better safari buddies. We would get to know each other well over the next week or so. Plus we had the luck of just having us 3 and our driver Peter.

We hopped in the Range Rover and headed out towards Lake Nakuru National Park. Lake Nakuru is one of the many soda lakes in the Rift Valley. It was our first day out on a 4-day safari that started here and went on to Masai Mara. It was one of the most memorable experiences of my life. But since a safari is such an overwhelming visual and auditory and tactile experience I will just let the pictures do the talking.


Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Sea of Pink: Greater FlamingosSea of Pink: Greater Flamingos
Sea of Pink: Greater Flamingos

This is supposed to be just "a few" compared with other seasons!
White Rhinos GrazingWhite Rhinos Grazing
White Rhinos Grazing

We saw 2 male rhinos fighting and chasing each other!
Black RhinosBlack Rhinos
Black Rhinos

Black Rhino is smaller and more rare. Both species are endangered because of poaching for the horns for tools and "medicine"
Water BuffaloWater Buffalo
Water Buffalo

Africa's only native cows. We saw one limping across the road on the verge of death after having been evidently wounded in the leg.
ImpalaImpala
Impala

I love the impala and their curved horns. They are graceful, alert, agile, and very abundant...I saw easily 1000's of them.


Tot: 0.258s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 21; qc: 88; dbt: 0.1136s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb