The Routine as of Day 11


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nyanza Province » Kisumu
July 24th 2006
Published: July 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello All...keep the comments coming ... I am so enjoying them and they are keeping me grounded. And yes Deb you have my full permission to use the blog for your student's studies.
Many of you have expressed interest on what my routine and surroundings are like. So here goes. My home base is the Imperial Hotel, a very comfortable, even luxurious compared to surrounding areas, five story high hotel. I am the guest of the Gilani’s who own the hotel. Their generosity and hospitality are unparalleled and I will be looking for ways through the rest of my days to return their kindness. The Imperial is a very well run, friendly and hospitable place teeming with people around the world mostly doing aid relief work or government business. A group of Europeans have just arrived with video cameras…may have to see if I can tag along!!!! There are two restaurants, two bars, a coffee shop and a pool. All great places to meet and visit with people. I can also get an excellent cappuccino..for those of you worried about my latte habit. And the local beer - Tusker is excellent. My room is very comfortable and clean. I have a double bed, many pillows (inside joke with Dave), a TV, radio, fridge and a very deep tub with shower. The water is a wonderful temperature for showering. I also have air conditioning and am trying not to use it...but the trouble with leaving the window open at night ...are the bugs...hence my new favorite thing -- my mosquito net....which covers my bed like a cocoon. I may not be able to sleep again without one. Upon waking up...the net creates a wonderful dreamlike space above the bed ...hard to explain....but creates a sense of magic and security. I just love it. I've developed a morning routine. Out of bed and I jump into my lululemon, apply sunscreen, don the westjet ball cap (may have to approach both companies for sponsorship..ha!)...and I'm off for my morning walk. My route varies to include the park across the street and surrounding streets teeming with kiosks full of t-shirts, shoes, electronics, books, underwear…almost anything really. The business bustle starts early here -- shortly after 7 am! I get many offers for young men to join me in my exercize! Or to give me a lift on their bicycles (boda bodas) Often I am the only white girl on the street. I am treated very respectfully for those worried about me wondering the streets on my own..not a problem! About 35 to 45 minutes later...back to the hotel where I do some yoga (Kathy Nash would be proud) and then off to the shower to freshen up for breakfast. Tropical fruit is plentiful here…pineapple, melon, mango, papaya., So I start with a bowl of fruit and mango juice. I am becoming a tea drinker..milk no sugar and I am resisting the temptation to have eggs and sausage everyday. Today…corn flakes and fruit hit the spot. On the weekends, potato curry and chaptkas are becoming a favorite. There is one computer for the hotel and 9 am is often a good time to get on (that is midnight Calgary time!) I check my email and blog and read the paper over a cappuccino. We have discovered a wireless network called Butterfly..so I am regretting now not having my laptop. Oh well. After all this I am ready for the days activities. Today Munira and I are off to the Aga Khan hospital. Tomorrow I will play golf with Sheila, a british friend of Munira’s and on Wednesday I am off to a governance conference near Lake Naivasha for 3 days…so that is the week.

The foliage here is lush! Palm trees, jacaranda trees, bougainvillea, flowers everywhere - beautiful really! And the days are warm and sunny…beautiful blue skies -- about 32 degrees C. Around 1 pm is the main meal of the day…often we go to the Gilani’s home. Grace, their cook and housekeeper who has been with them some 20 years, prepares a wonderful feast….Indian cuisine. My favorite so far is a chicken coconut curry dish. Evenings are spent meeting new friends on the fifth floor Shalimar Bar, catching a movie either on TV…or as we did last night…we went to the theatre…saw the new Antonio Banderas dance movie. Depending on the days activities…may have a light supper (chicken curry is the clear winner so far) around 9 pm. And lights out between 11 and 12 depending on how good the book is and how tired I am. So hope this paints a picture for you. And yes I have settled in very nicely. Starting to think about things to do. I am in networking mode and tour mode. My plan over the next two weeks is to start volunteering either at a clinic or orphanage. I am also helping some of the hotel staff with menu planning. Amazing really how the days are filling up. Cheers, Jan

Advertisement



27th July 2006

Very pleased to read that the daily routine is going well
Hi Jan, I just want to drop you a note before leaving for Québec early tomorrow morning, returning at the office on Aug. 8. It's comforting to read that your accommodations are cozy and the surroundings are safe enough so you can go for a morning brisk walk. Looks like you have a pretty good routine already set up. I love your breakfast menu, nothing better than fresh fruits to start the day, it reminds me the breakfasts we had in Nicaragua. Bonus!!.. you can also have a good capuccino. Hope you can tag along with the europeans on some of their ventures. Wishing you well with your plans to volunteer, concerning menu planning this looks like it's going to be a fun project. I will catch up when I am back from Québec. Take care Cheers, Guylaine

Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0571s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb