kenyan food


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nyanza Province » Kisumu
June 19th 2006
Published: June 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I think I am pretty spoiled with good food all the time and never really appreciated the food that is available everywhere in Kenya.

It seems ugali is the Kenyan national food with almost everyone likes to eat. Ugali is just a bit like the raggi balls in Bangalore, India. Except the Ugali is made with maize flour. It really has no taste by itself, it can be pretty blah when you compare it with most Indian food. But having said that if anyone (non Indian, of course!) ate idli by itself without the sambar, I reckon he would hate it... any way, ugali generally served with meat soup or sukuma wiki (collards). It's ok I guess, but it really puts me to sleep.

I should say my favourite food is githeri. They put the maize and beans together and boil them. It served just by itself and sometimes with a bit of sukuma wiki on the side. I enjoyed eating this food, until one day my tooth metal cap came off...

Githeri is the cheapest food that can be quite filling. It's about 5kshs for a serve, that's in Western. In other provinces, githeri wasn't that easily
Ugali Ugali Ugali

this seems to be the most favourite food of all kenyans, perhaps this is the kenyan national food.
available.





Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

sukuma wikisukuma wiki
sukuma wiki

spianch taste like cabbage leaves


23rd February 2007

wow i miss the foodd.....

Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0746s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb