Update from Kunya


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nyanza Province » Kisumu
January 8th 2008
Published: January 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Another short blog to fill in the gaps. Since we have this little internet opportunity in Ragengni, Sarah and I are coming in each day to do a little. You should see us sitting in this mechanic shop working on the computer! I will really try to send pictures next time.

After I last left you from Bondo, I had no idea what was about to happen. While I was on the computer in Bondo, I heard cheering in the streets, and thought the announcement came that Raila Odinga, the ODM (opposition) candidate had won. The computer store attendant went out to check and told me there were bonfires in the streets, but everything was peaceful, so no worries. When we broke for lunch, I proceeded to the matatu station, but only a couple of empty ones were there, which was rare. I don't know if I mentioned before that I was going from Bondo to Majiwa to visit the Gayas and spend the night. If I had to wait too long, they would be concerned. So, I checked with a piki piki (motorbike) driver on his price to take me, and he wanted 450 KSh, compared to 30 KSh for matatu, but he knew no matatus available. So, I declined, and took a boda boda (passenger bicycle) to the main road to look for a matatu. After waiting for some time, a matatu came from past Bondo, going towards Majiwa. I hopped on for 50 KSh, somewhat inflated, but not too bad. Right at the intersection to Bondo, burned out bonfires were on the main road, but everything was quiet. Towards Majiwa, our matatu was halted by a makeshift roadblock. A young man that I recognized came to the window and greeted me, extending his hand. I thought he was just saying hello because he recognized me. What a surprise when he said "Muzungu, give us some money!" I said, "What for?" And he replied, " Just give us some money to help us". I reasoned with him that he should not get money for nothing, and I already paid money for the matatu ride. At that point, he waved us on, saying, "Thank you for your discipline?" The matatu driver and crew thought that was really funny, and said that would be a good one to try with the police (highway patrol stop matatus at road inspection points, but take bribes to let them pass with illegal loads, etc.). Little did I know how things were to change. My friends, the other volunteers would not be so lucky with the roadblocks that they would encounter in Kisumu, where they had gone that day.

They encountered several burning roadblocks with violent thugs armed with rocks, bricks, sticks, etc., who rocked their private van from Mama na Dada, demanded all their money for passage, and broke windows in the van, wounded some of the volunteers with broken glass. Jayne and Sozan escaped with a petrol station owner in his personal car. He took them into the city to their hotel. Jayne had a flight from Kisumu to Nairobi to connect with her flight home to the US on Jan. 2. She was on the last flight from Kisumu for several days, and is home in Las Vegas. I heard she was interviewed by CNN. Sozan connected with the Canadian Embassy and has been staying with another Canadian woman in Kisumu. She flew to Nairobi yesterday, and will be staying there for a few weeks with a friend, as she had originally planned, before returning to Vancouver BC. I plan to visit her when I return to the US, as she is unable to travel across the border. She is Kurdish and born in Iran. Her parents were freedom fighters until she was a young girl, when they stopped so she could live with them, and out of danger. They emigrated to Canada. That was almost 20 years ago, but because of their past, she can't come to the US. Windsor may still be in Kisumu - her choice for reporting from there - and soon to Nairobi and home to US.

To be continued, shop is closing. Hopefully, another installment tomorrow.

Peace, and best to all,
Love, Deni

Advertisement



Tot: 0.232s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0442s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb