North & south from Nairobi


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province
January 16th 2010
Published: January 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

January 14: Nairobi north to Thika to Karatine (market) to Nanyuki (equator)
January 15-16: Nairobi south to Machakos to Wamunyu (where Paul and Esther have a "camp," which is a second home in their village.

I'm loving the trip: when we went to the equator I thought nothing could top the experience of coffee plantations, pineapple pantations, many plots of corn (for people, not livestock), cattle and goats free to graze without fences which makes driving challenging but they seem to know to stay off the road! So many stories. Then we went to Paul and Esther's home village and slept over in their "camp," which has a full porch and many large rooms. Today I went to a funeral for Paul's uncle (his mother's sister's husband) and it was a five-hour affair full of ritual and music and speeches (didn't understand a word). I felt overwhelmed at first. The scenery south of Nairobi is very different (salt flats to rich red earth) and I liked this trip even better than the first one north.

Three full days. I'm still having trouble uploading photos -- will work on that!
Tomorrow we drive down toward the Tanzania border and Massai Mara.


Advertisement



17th January 2010

wow
this is just too much so glad all is going well we had our family Dinner today at Travis' it turned out good watched the Hitmen win though Michael didn't play ,I can see this being another book?? love Donna
17th January 2010

hello
Dear Kathryn, I'm envious! You sound wonderful and the trip sounds amazing. But what I am most happy for you about is the warmth I sense growing between you and Paul and Esther. To tour a foreign culture with new friends must be exciting on an added level. Can't wait to see your photos and most of all talk when we both get home. I'm sending you hugs and good energy for positive experiences as you travel. Love, Pat
17th January 2010

trip
I am sure enjoying hearing from you and about your wonderful trip, really sounds exciting and breathtaking, look forward to your next blog. Take care, Love Carol
18th January 2010

WOW
Sopunds like you're having the time of your life. I'll bet you never imagined such an adventure. We're all looking forward to hearing all about the trip
18th January 2010

Hi
I'm so glad you are enjoying the trip so far! Miss you, especially yesterday morning. Is it sunny and hot? love you, Karen
18th January 2010

Nairobi N and S
Hi Kathryn: Thanks for the wonderful update. Re uploads: I upload the photos one at a time. Seems to be mor reliable. I'm sitting on the deck of the boat in Florida with the sun on my back and the computer in my lap, 'talking' to you in Africa. We must be time travellers of a sort. Looking forward. Chris
18th January 2010

Nairobi N and S
Hi Kathryn: Thanks for the wonderful update. Re uploads: I upload the photos one at a time. Seems to be mor reliable. I'm sitting on the deck of the boat in Florida with the sun on my back and the computer in my lap, 'talking' to you in Africa. We must be time travellers of a sort. Looking forward. Chris

Tot: 0.159s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0739s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb