Out Of Africa


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province
September 30th 2009
Published: September 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

My Journey Comes to a Close



It is my last day here. I am up early, feeling rested, but a little scratch in the back fo the throat still. However, it seems to be getting better so I am not too cnocerned.

A nice breakfast, and I re-pack my bags for the trip home. I have a full backpack of empty space so I am going to do a little shopping today to bring back items for our future silent auctions. If I have time, I may also walk over to the Nairobi national Museum. I haven't had a chance to do any "touristy" things yet this trip, so a nice relaxing walk through the museum will be nice. As you may be aware, it contains "Lucy" the 4 million year old remains of the oldest human found yet. It was Doctor Louis Leaky's discovery, at the Oldevai Gorge in the Rift Valley, and I still remember this interesting fact from early grade school. It is a treat for me to be able to stand right next to it and soak in the totality of this relic of early human civilisation. This region is known as the Cradle of Civilisation, and all human life on this planet has been traced back to the lands that I now stand on. The oldest skull samples date back to 18 million years ago, the first hints of humanity.

I check out by10:00 am and settle in to finish this last blog on the computer. It is likely the post that I will make, and I will be travelling for the next few days to arrive home Thursday evening. The trip has been enormously successful in every respect, including the fact that I bring home with me the same quantities of Ciprofloxin and Imodium than what I came with. I have not contracted malaria, I have no infections or injuries, our programs are on track with many new ones in the making. Our project in Bumala is not only functioning well, but it is truly dynamic, alive and thriving. The children are bright and healthy, and their education has been greatly expanded by the visit of the various volunteers throughout the summer months. Heather and Jennifer have both performed well beyond all of our expectations and they have been deeply moved by the experience. The community has embraced our work, as well as us directly, in a new and potent way. Heather and Jennifer were baptised as "Women of Africa", and I as an "Elder". Our legal affairs are all in order, and we have developed powerful connections to the government and the development community - all which will bring further rewards, as well as great challenges, in the future.

My time in Africa has been, once again, productive and enlightening. Despite its very real problems, Kenya and its people have embraced me as a member of their family. I will sign off now and look forward to getting back to work at home. I would like to express my thanks to everyone who has supported us on this trip, and to emphasize once again that this work is only possible because of you. Thanks for being part of the Village.....

Advertisement



Tot: 0.293s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.055s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb