Touchdown in Nairobi


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province » Nairobi
August 28th 2006
Published: August 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Here goes. .. this still doesn't feel quite real. I arrived into Nairobi last night after a 5am start on Sunday morning and everything went smoothly. Getting through customs witha box full of small soar panels, batteries, wires, croc clips (and other potentially dodgy looking timing and triggering devices!) was fine. My well rehearsed tales of visiting friends in Nairobi with gifts from the lovely staff of solarcentury wasn't needed.

It's Monday morning and I'm taking my first steps in Nairobi - the city with a bad reputation for street crime. I feel safer than some evenings in Gipshy Hill back home but have warned by everyone at the hotel that things can and do change very rapidly after dark. So far I've found myself surrounded by the chaos you would expect from a huge African city. . . matatus (minibuses) everywhere, all bursting at thh seams and all blaring a strange distorted mix of reggae, gospel and "...choose celibacy, oooh......say no to fornication....." music. Sure that the occupant of the coffin on top of one matatu appreciated the musical send off.

My solar quest begins in earnest this afternoon when I've arranged to meet up with the director of the Kibera Community Youth Project. Going to learn as much as I can from them and will be visiting their workshops and meeting the rest of the group on Tuesday. Everyone sucks their teeth and frowns when I say that I am visiting Kibera - a real feeling that people would rather I didn't see it.

The adventure has started. . .
AB

Advertisement



29th August 2006

missing you terribly
I hope that you are following the tone advocated by the songs over there and are saying no to fornication. Glad to hear that the kenyans have got their morals in good working order. The pope would approve. We are all missing you terribly. We met mel and julian today, they were quite interested in your trip, but more interested in you and catherine.
30th August 2006

Touch me, Bod :-)
It was brilliant to meet up for lunch t'other day Bod! I'm so pleased you've arrived safe and sound. Hope you're feeling happy and healthy in Africa, and enjoying Nairobi - don't forget - go and visit Karen Blixen's house if you have time. The only time I've seen a leopard was just outside Nairobi - up a tree looking extraordinarily relaxed. Always remember to check above if you're picknicing - leopard poo is a lot worse than pigeon guano .... Eden project was brill (Goldfrapp excellent) and Franz Ferdinand were great too ... 'it's ALWAYS better on holiday'! G xx

Tot: 0.181s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 18; qc: 80; dbt: 0.0887s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb