Update


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province » Nairobi
July 16th 2006
Published: July 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I just wanted to let everyone know that I made my transition from Ghana to Kenya alright. I'm going to miss Ghana, but I'm also very pumped about Kenya. I spent the day today with a tour guide that took me around to all the safari agencies and helped me haggle for prices. It's actually a pretty sweet system, he preps me before I go in and says that pretty much I set me constraints such as number of days, parks and places to visit, price and items included in the price. Then I do that at several agencies and see how close I can get to what I want. Once I found a place that offered what I wanted for the price I wanted then he took me back to the company that he said had the best service and I basically say that if they don't match the offer then I'll go somewhere else. It worked great as far as I'm concerned because I got a lot of stuff jammed into the trip and the price matches what the lonely planet says is possible here (which is especially good considering that its high tourist season right now). Here's the best part, I don't even pay the guy for his services, the company that I sign up with gives him a cut of the price for bringing in business. At the very least, if I got screwed over I have no clue how because multiple companies and several other tourists would have had to be in on it. Plus, Moses is a cool guy. I think I'm going to invite him for supper with me if he doesn't have to work more.

Anyway, here's the trip outline since you won't hear for me until I'm back in eleven days. I'm going to Masai Mara, the countries biggest game reserve for three nights where I can see the annual wildebeest migration as well as the wicked awesome things that kill wildebeests like lions and leopards. Then I'll go for one day to Lake Nakuru to see millions of falmingos and, if I'm lucky black and white rhinos. After that I go to Samburu Park, which is a subdesert climate to see giraffs and many other animals. Then I start on my trek up Africa's second highest mountain, Mt. Kenya. I'm aiming for the third highest peak on the mountain, which is the highest that an untrained person can go. Lanana Point is approximately 4990 meters above see level. If it works out right, I'll arrive at the peak just as the sun is rising. It'll be really cold up there, which is weird since it's only 16 km from the equator.

Anyway, that's the plan I'll let you know how it turns out when I get back. Pray for me on the journey, I'll need to be healthy to make the peak of the mountain. Pray that I don't get altitude sickness or some other complication. Thanks.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.007s; cc: 10; qc: 70; dbt: 0.0537s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb