Just getting started!


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province » Nairobi
July 6th 2010
Published: July 6th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone!

For everyone who is interested in reading about what the hell I'm doing in Kenya. First things first. For everyone who doesn't know me, I'm Brendan ten Velthuis and currently in my third year of university at the VU in Amsterdam, Holland. Via the organization Uptoyoutoo I went to Kenya to do some volunteerswork/research/internship at Yike for around 6 weeks. After 6 weeks I will do about a week of travel where after I will gloriously return to home to the warm arms of my family and especially my lovely girlfriend. Yike is an non-profit organization based in Nairobi where they facilitate groups of youth( 15 years to 30) with their businesses or whatever. They currently have around 60 groups in their 3 year programs where they mostly teach them about how to be a successful business. That includes all kinds of skills, like financial skills but also skills that involves their business. Businesses like garbage collecting, music and dance and selling banana's next to the road. Also they have all kinds of programs to better the working together of the youth groups. More information about Yike can be found at http://yike.org/. Now about me. My ''job'' will be to make a map of youth groups in Nairobi via an questionnaire. This will include questions like where are they based, what do they do and do they have issues they would like to have addressed. With this information Yike hopes to do a better job. So for me that holds I will do a lot of walking around being stared at (in the slums most of the time), being made fun off (they love to laugh) and do a lot of talking too cheeky youths. I just arrived yesterday and today I visited the office (it's in the middle of nowhere, I will do a lot of being lost) and shared my Dutch candy I brought along. They seem to like it, so maybe there is a business idea in there somewhere?? But that's all for now folks! Let the good times roll!
PS. I will be automatically post this on Facebook, and whoever doesn't give a crap about what I write can ignore it. After they slapped themselves for being jackasses ofcourse.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0353s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb