Kenya is crazy


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province » Nairobi
September 13th 2009
Published: September 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hey all!

I am still safe and happy here in Kenya. There are two things that I have been feeling like I should write about -- driving in Kenya and mob justice.

Driving in Kenya


Drivers here are insane. I don't think there is another way to describe it. Not only are the jams crazy at most times of the day, but crossing the street is a nightmare, and basically involves you risking your life by running out in front of fast moving cars and hoping they'll stop. People also generally do not follow the rules of where to be on the road - as in, they often speed in the opposite lane to pass, and often even speed down the sidewalk, honking at pedestrians to get out of their way. Fortunately, I don't often have to cross streets, but I have been told plenty of horror stories. For one, Kiah's (another American student on the program) host sister told her a few days ago that she saw someone splat (a very horrifying word, I know), on a bus who "didn't see them crossing." Also, in class we were told that the car standards are very easily disobeyed and, for example, many cars on the road "should not be there" -- ie, they have no breaks, and should absolutely not be on the road. Needless to say, every time I cross the street I am terrrrrified, and it clearly shows on my face.

Mob Justice


Nairobi is known in Kenya for being pretty dangerous and especially prone to theft. However, the consequences of stealing here - so called "mob justice" - are terrible. We were told that it is not uncommon for a mob of people to run after a robber and either beat them to death, or, even more gruesome, tie them up, put a tire around them, douse them with gasoline, and burn them to death. I, fortunately, have not had to see any of this happening in my time here. However, Kiah yesterday was reading on her balcony in her apartment building, which is even gated in (and supposedly then more sheltered), when a very shabby looking man was let in to the compound. She didn't really notice or care until the guard also let in a big crowd of people, who began punching him. She said that by the time she stopped watching (she obviously was very disturbed and shaken) the man was within inches of his life. At the time she was home alone, and when her family came home, they were very nonchalant and when they found Kiah crying were not very understanding of why she was so upset. They explained that the man had stolen something from a couple of blocks away, and implied (by being so indifferent) that he was just getting what he deserved. Soooo huge culture shock there. Hopefully I will never have to witness mob justice during my time in Kenya. Because of this phenomenon, they told us during orientation to carefully consider the consequences of screaming if we were robbed, as this would invoke mob justice. We were told that if we were hurt to obviously scream if we needed help, but to reconsider asking for help if something small - like our cellphones - were stolen. Hopefully I will never be put in the situation where I will have to even begin to think about how to respond.

Other than the issues above, my time here has been relatively uneventful. I have been going to classes in the morning and most afternoons, have eaten delicious (and when I've had to buy it, also very cheap ~$1) Kenyan food, and yesterday morning (yes, Saturday - my family is 7th Day Adventist) I also went to church. The church was really interesting and despite being 4 hours long (and I left early!) I was rarely bored, because they break up the time between singing, bible study, and sermons/preaching to minimize boredom. I can't wait until I go to the Orthodox church here, in order to see how it is in comparison, but I haven't yet been very good about getting that arranged (and I didn't bring enough dress clothes to Kenya - arg.) I also met my father, a 7th Day Adventist pastor, yesterday. He is very nice, and nothing like what I was afraid of with other stories I've heard about Kenyan men and fathers. He clearly cares a lot about his family and loves to spend time with them -- I think that this is also aided by the fact that he is rarely at home, because he travels so much for missionary work (he got back Friday from 2 weeks in Ethiopia, and leaves Tuesday for 11 days in Mombasa on Kenya's coast). He has an incredible deep voice when he sings, which sounds wonderful with my mom's beautiful loud soprano voice.

I am also out of battery so that will have to suffice for now, but please leave me comments/questions, or email me if you want me to talk about anything!

Love you all. I hope all is well at home.

Becca

Advertisement



13th September 2009

street crossing & robbery
remember, Petro's father was killed by a motorcycle in GR so I am glad you are being so very, very careful. Stay focused!! Mob justice is ugly - so what do you do to protect your personal belongings and not put yourself in risky situations? The more I research, the more I realize how very dangerous Nairobi can be. Keep posting!! Love to read, and see pics.
14th September 2009

thanks
Becca, thanks for including me in your blog list and the vicarious experiences. Stay safe! --Vonnie

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0448s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb