A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to My Blog


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province » Nairobi
August 8th 2009
Published: August 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So, whenever I’m in a situation where I try to blog regularly (like tour or in Africa), as I go throughout my day, I try to make note of things to include. On a regular basis, there are things I forget to post. Sometimes, it’s even the funniest thing of the day. Once, I titled the blog about something that we saw, and then forgot to explain it! Here is a recap of some funny or interesting things that I forgot to mention.

On Aug 2, when we were walking back from the hotel where we used internet, we were careful not to get mugged. As we were walking, I tripped on something and took a pretty good fall. I got mugged by the ground. At least nothing was stolen ☺

When we were at the border from Uganda to Kenya, we were trying to get money. We had Ugandan shillings and Rwandan francs, but no Kenyan shillings yet. As we were crossing, I mentioned to Sarah that it would be quite a bit easier if Africa became like Europe and switched to one currency throughout. “It will be a lot easier to travel when they switch to the Afro.” Sarah laughed out loud for at least 6 minutes.

The day we went snorkeling, there was a sardine in the bottom of the boat. Apparently Chelsea and Spencer and the boatman caught a few of them. It was cool- white, and translucent in some parts. Irene started putting sunscreen on everyone, even if we already had some, so when I felt a wet blob on the back of my neck, I figured she had got me too. It wasn’t long before Sarah’s giggling took over the whole boat. She thought it was pretty hilarious to put a small fish down my shirt. I can’t say, though, that if I had been sitting behind her, that it wouldn’t have ended up down her shirt either.

Charles, our guide in Nairobi, was probably the tallest person we met our whole trip- at a whopping 5’11”. At dinner in Mombasa, I noted that there were only 3 people taller than Sarah- the two Canadian guys and George. We did see a few Maasai men walking around who were quite tall. 6’1” or 6’2” is all I noticed though. It was odd being with someone was tall as Charles after only being around smaller guys. I’m sure I’ll be completely shocked when I see my high schoolers!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.274s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 16; qc: 63; dbt: 0.1385s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb