I Had a Creative Title for This but Forgot It


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province » Nairobi
August 2nd 2009
Published: August 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

For hopefully the last time, Bud and Irene came and woke us up at a ridiculously early time. We needed to be at the bus depot around 9:30 to board, so we needed to leave by 9. So apparently we needed to get up at 6:30! In my house, if I need to get up or leave or something, my parents get me up at the last possible moment (occasionally not leaving me enough time) but I prefer that. And generally, if I know what time we’re leaving, I can get myself up on my own and be ready on time, kind of like a responsible adult. Anyway, when Bud came in, there was talk of leaving at 8 for some unknown reason, and then 8:30, before Sarah finally convinced him we needed to leave at 9. I slept another hour.

There wasn’t much to do in the way of packing, for us at least. Though, there was a big hurry-up-and-wait to get the luggage to the van RIGHT NOW so it could sit on the lawn for 30 minutes. The morning was just spent enjoying mandazi, cleaning up, and saying farewells. A few of the girls even cried a little. Andrea never left my side. John and Stella and the kids were also out to say goodbye to us. Finally, we loaded up in the van, the 8 of us, plus George, Mama, Ann, Timothy and Andrea. And our luggage. It was tight!

The bus was late in arriving, so late to board, which just left us plenty of time to chat with our hosts. It was a really nice bus- complete with air conditioning! That’s something I haven’t experienced in a long time. But it wasn’t a hot day once we started heading west, so I got cold. The seats were comfortable and the windows were closed. Great ride. My only comment about the bus was that the seats tilt back a long ways, so there were several times my legs got stuck when the person in front of my leaned back. Oh well.

We saw zebras, giraffes, ostriches, and camels on the drive. Pretty cool. There was also an incident where Sarah was trying to eat a mango in a bus without a knife or anywhere to put the skin. I’ll let the pictures tell the story.

After the 8-hour ride, we arrived in Nairobi. Eventually, we found the people who were to pick us up and went to the hotel. The place we’ve been staying overbooked, so we were down to one room. The Canadians were okay with that, but Sarah and I were ready to pay out of our own pocket in a different hotel so we didn’t have to share a room with that many people. We moved to a different hotel down the street, which was more expensive but didn’t come with mosquito nets, internet, or outlets in the rooms. Nonetheless, it was a place to lay our heads.

Bud%


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

What Time Do You Have?What Time Do You Have?
What Time Do You Have?

New York, London, Nairobi, New Delhi and Tokyo all are on different times. Even the minutes!


Tot: 0.292s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 62; dbt: 0.1449s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb