Kenya - A Wild and Magical World...


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province » Nairobi
January 16th 2009
Published: January 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I just wrote a massive journal detailing everything I have done from the moment I left and guess what? We lost power. Just as I was about to click “Publish” the whole house went pitch black. So now I am writing in Word and will be saving every two seconds to avoid that…. Ohhh man! Very funny.

Well, here I am, in Kenya! Where should I start…

My flight was amazing and beautiful, especially the Alps from above, so stunning. It was long and I was so excited the whole time. I hardly slept the whole 24 hours of traveling so I was pretty strung out when I got in. Two lovely men picked me up: Cleo and Mike. They were welcoming and as we sat outside the airport talking and waiting for another volunteer to arrive, I got my first glimpse of Africa. The smell hit me first. It smells warm and like the earth here. It is very grounding. I spotted some trees in the moonlight that were huge and green and leafy. The sky is bigger here, it seems.

We then drove to George and Regina’s, where I stayed for 2 nights. The driving here is crazy. There are no lines on the road so it’s pretty much just a free for all. Every two seconds you are heading straight at a big truck or bus and you think you will have a head on collision, but then pass within literally inches of cars and people. The house was down a small dirt road and I honestly did not know what to expect. There were empty stalls lining the sides of the road and it was so dusty. George and Regina live in a nice big house and 4 other volunteers were waiting for us when we arrived. They told us endless stories into the night of their past two months here in Kenya. We finally crashed and I had a restless sleep, too excited for my first day in this magical place.

I awoke to the sun breaking through the curtains. Out my window tall, tall trees surrounded the back yard with huge leaves. Bright clothes hung on the line and the sun was so bright. Two more volunteers arrived in the morning: Mike and Lynn. Mike and I went out to see the kids outside. Regina and George own a ton of small one room houses outside there place and the kids always play right there. There are about 20 of them, all beautiful but sick and hungry looking. When Mike and I went out there were two very small boys playing together. We walked over and said “Habari” which means hello. I crouched down and the smallest boy with the biggest eyes just reached out and put his hand in mine. I almost burst into tears. He just stared at me and held onto my thumb for at least 20 minutes. Later in the day we come home from shopping for cells and water and all the kids are out playing. They are so happy… you have to realize that these kids have nothing.. yet I have never seen happier people. A volunteer came out with stickers and was attacked by the children for them, haha. I have never seen a sticker on someone’s hand bring such complete joy. They were laughing and screaming and running around like little monkeys, asking me to take pictures of their stickers. I definitely got a couple great ones.

All of the children call us “Muzungu which means white person, or English speaking person. So I will walk down a street and all I hear is “MUZUNGU! MUZUNGU!” from all the children. Either that or they say “Howareyou?” all in one slur which is pretty adorable.

We went to orientation on Thursday and then we were placed at our families. I am living with Oliver and Margaret, who I call Mum. They are incredible people and so welcoming. Margaret calls me her daughter and they both constantly remind me that they are here for me if I ever need I thing. They have two beautiful children named Kim, 2 and Crystal, 5. They are very smart and love the “Sweets!” that I brought. Crystal is always playing the Ukelele and she is quite good. Her and Mum are both teaching me Swahili. They tell me I should be fluent when I come home! I was placed by myself, unlike the other volunteer who were placed in groups of two or three. So that has been hard for sure. I don’t really have anyone to connect with here. Don’t get me wrong, they are so nice and wonderful, but there is just something about having another person who has no idea what is going on that makes things a little easier. I feel clueless and lost, surrounded by a language I do not understand and a culture that is entirely different from my own. Mum is very great, I have been feeling homesick and she always sits with me in my bed and tells me that she loves me. There is another volunteer coming here on the 29th and then one more on the 1st of Feb, so I can for sure stick it out. It is just such a huge adjustment to be doing on my own.

I am the only white person in the whole village, which is very interesting. Everywhere I go I am stared at and everyone calls me muzungu. It is hard, but I am learning a lot. I’ve grown up white in a white culture, so I’ve never really understood what it is like to be completely different. Now I get it, and believe me there is no way I will ever fit in! In a way it is empowering, because I am representing my culture and I definitely don’t go unnoticed.

My placement is at the Agape Hope Centre, an orphanage and school. Oliver and Margaret run the whole place and have such huge hearts. They are very short on money, very short. The children are wonderful… they are kind and courageous. When they see me they smile and they call me either Inki or “Cha” which comes from teacher. Some of them call me muzungu but they were told to stop. They love my hair and always run their hands through it. Even though I do not speak their language, there is no connection problem. We speak with smiles and laughing and they love to be tickled. They break my heart with their eyes and how they can love even though they have been taught the opposite by their parents, if they have them. Others have non and live there.

There are many problems with money. Today they had no food, none. There is a country-wide famine due to two reasons. During the post election violence, they could not plant because everyone was being chased away and killed. Now, when they should be harvesting there is none. They cannot plant because there is a serious drought here. It rained today for the first time since way last year. They asked me to buy the food they needed, and gladly I did. It cost me 700 shillings. Guess how much that is in Canadian? You won’t believe it. TEN DOLLARS! I spent ten dollars to feed 120 orphans breakfast and lunch. And it was good food, porridge for breakfast and maze and cabbage stew for lunch. Maze is their staple food, it is like potatoes but it is stickier and has no taste, so you eat it with something like cabbage or a curry. Anyway, I could not believe that it was this cheep to feed all those kids, it blew me away. I taught some math and helped make lunch, I did the dishes and just spent time with the kids. They have an adorable little kitten. She is SO small.

They are trying to build another room for the boys to sleep in. Any money they get, they go out and buy a sheet of tin for the room and are building it themselves. They need four more sheets to finish it, and then concrete. I will go on Monday and buy the sheets for them so we can finish and have more children stay.

Another major issue due to the drought: they are running out of water. It is very expensive due to such a lack of it. They have two huge water bins and it will cost them 8000 shillings to fill them. This is around $100 Canadian. This would last them for at least two months for gardening, cooking, dishes and of course drinking for the kids. It would be treated water.

I guess what I am asking for now, although I never like to ask for money, is more donations. Even just $10 will feed the kids for a day. I really want to help them get the water and also to start up making bread to sell and eat so they can make money. Please, spare anything you can. You can send it to my mum and she will transfer it to me. I will go and buy the things and make sure it goes directly to the Centre. It would mean so much to these people… please just realize how lucky we are in Canada, and how easily you can make a difference right now.

Well, I think that is all for now, seeing as I have just retyped this whole thing! Haha. Oh, also, I am developing a Kenyan accent. Just though you should know that.

Missing home… and loving you guys greatly.

Please send money…

Inki/Cha


Advertisement



17th January 2009

A Moving Entry!
Hi Ingrid! Your Jan. 16 entry moved us to tears. As I had my (daily!) shower, in lots of hot water, with soap, shampoo etc., then dressed in one of my (many!) outfits, then (chose!) a breakfast of toast with peanut butter and honey, orange juice, I reflected on your message. We are so privileged - I feel spoiled! There are so many ways we could spare money for your cause. Firstly, we can roll all that change laying around in jars etc. That would probably provide food for the orphanage for a week! Teri and I have decided that our Tim Horton's money would be better spent in Kenya! We'll get busy and gather up some money to send to your Mom, to be forwarded to you. Keep healthy and safe, dear Ingrid, and enjoy every moment! Ginny
19th January 2009

YAH INKI!
Inki I am so proud of you! You're amazing ! I love you and it sounds like an amazing experience so far! I am thinking about you! Love you

Tot: 0.229s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1922s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb