The Masaai Mara Safari


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province » Nairobi
November 20th 2005
Published: December 14th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

African Expedition


The BullThe BullThe Bull

He seems to be telling me "if ya' mess with the bull, you'll get the horns"! Yes, I was glad that he didn't charge me!
Today has been an exceptional day. Unfortunately, this signified the end of my time in Bujumbura, Burundi. I’d spent approximately 2.5 weeks working here. Prior to the trip, I honestly couldn’t tell you what I had expected, except for the fact that I knew my movement around the region would be restricted (due to the civil war), something that I did not eagerly anticipate. Additionally, I had had several comrades that had been evacuated from the country on a prior visit. On top of that, anyone else that I knew who had visited Bujumbura did not have flattering comments regarding the city. And then, it was my turn ... my policy had always been (and hopefully will continue to be) … “anywhere … anytime … I’ll endeavor to experience every clime”.

Well, I departed Burundi for Kenya around 1400 on Saturday, November 20 and arrived in Kenya at 1630. It took approximately 45 minutes to get through immigration (get a visa) and make my way to baggage claim. I was in no particular hurry and just took my time getting through the process. I figured that by the time I arrived at baggage claim all of my gear would be
GiraffesGiraffesGiraffes

These giraffes are striking some funny poses (especially the one on the left). They're probably wondering what I'm doing out here in the middle of the Maasi Mara. No ... I wasn't lost! I was supposed to be there!
there and I could just collect it and head for my hotel … WRONG! Getting your baggage on this particular day in Nairobi seemed to take forever for some reason. If I didn’t know any better (which actually I don’t) I would have thought that they were unloading and delivering one bag at a time to the terminal! It was kind of funny but most of the folks weren’t laughing. I had plenty of time since my flight out of Nairobi to the Masai Mara safari wasn’t until the next morning. Anyway, while I was waiting for my gear, I simply made the best use of my time. I ran over to the exchange office and purchased some local currency (Kenyan shillings). Also, I was fortunate enough to be able to identify my driver (the fellow with the big sign that had my name on it). Great, at least I could mark those two items off of my “to do” list! Another funny thing about this baggage scenario is that I could not identify on which carousel I could collect my luggage. This was due to the fact that the data board could only show 2 flights at a time
Hippos ChillingHippos ChillingHippos Chilling

These hippos have a very relaxed life. They just lie around and sunbathe all day long. You'd think that it might get a little boring but not for these guys. They're quite happy with their daily routine.
above each carousel. Funny! The airport had rallies for the political election showing on the TV monitiors in the baggage claim area so everyone was somewhat able to stay occupied while waiting (insert information re: the election here). Around 1800 I was able to retrieve my gear. That is a wonderful feeling, knowing that you have your possessions safely in hand. Due to the long wait I made the following note to self … 1) get an ipod! I need some traveling music ... something to help me pass the time away, and 2) always have a book to read while travelling. Generally when I’m in an airport or some other state of travelling limbo, I just like to vegetate. I also don’t like reading while traveling by car or airplane for some reason. It just doesn’t sit well with me. Oh well, maybe it’s worth a “little” try.

My hotel in Nairobi, the Serena Hotel, was pretty fabulous. The room was spacious and very relaxing. No sweat. They also had a great pool and exercise area. I didn’t have a chance to check out the area around the hotel, however, this is definitely a good place to stay
RhinoRhinoRhino

Rhinos are formidable and awesome looking creatures. This one happens to be a White Rhino. Apparently, these rhinos are supposed to be quite docile and friendly when compared to other types. Of course, I wasn't going to test the waters and actually attempt to prove this theory. I took the rhino guide's word for it and left it at that.
on my next visit (note to self). It was approximately $135 USD for the night (I could go much cheaper) but what the heck, I’m getting ready to head to a safari. On top of that, the breakfast at the place is awesome! This is an extra benefit since I thrive on having at least 3 meals a day. I definitely need the energy at all times. It’s as if my body constantly needs to be refueled! It was a nice stay and I slept pretty well.

My driver arrives at 0750 on Sunday, November 20 (earlier than the scheduled pickup time of 0800) and I’m impressed. From my experiences, things in Africa can take more time and start a little later than expected. However, this fellow was right on the mark. He drops me off at Wilson airport and I hang out there until my flight. Note to self again: 1) get an ipod, 2) carry a book to read whilst travelling. Further notes: 3) get your own laptop, 4) purchase a PDA. I definitely need a PDA to store all of my contact information. I think that I’ve been twiddling with the idea long enough. It’s time
ZebrasZebrasZebras

I love the zebras. There's something about the black and white stripes that make them such "formal" creatures. I think that this is a pretty nifty shot of the Mom with the baby. They have noticeably thick bodies (especially in their hindquarters). They're beautiful animals. To date, I think that some tribes have tried to tame them as they would horses but without much success. The thought was that they would make fine "pack mules" or "work horses".
to just go ahead and get it done.

The flight over to the Masai Mara took approximately 45 minutes. I took a few photos (nothing of any real relevance), fell asleep a little bit and then took some more photos. Oddly enough, with all of the flying I’ve done, this little twin engine prop plane got me a little queasy. Can you believe that?? I’m the champ of flying and this little baby put my stomach in knots! Well, I was definitely happy to hit the ground. As such, I visited the lieu (toiletten, bathroom, or “choo” in Swahili) as quickly as possible. Afterwards, I went off to the Duty Free Shop. It was pretty cool, had several items in it (ranging from trinkets to masks and clothing) and was basically a charming little place.

We took a 10 minute ride to the Mara Safari club. I was glad to get there. I only had one bag so I was quick to sign in and head for my tent. Everyone else seemed to have more luggage … I was pretty pleased with myself. My intent was to have a great time, learn something and take some photos. I
LionessLionessLioness

I waited for two days prior to spotting and photographing this lion. She was resting alongside two or three other lions when we found her. This is yet another amazing creature in the long line of wonderful animals that can be found in Africa. Seeing this lion really made the whole trip worthwhile.
brought my camera equipment, a laptop (borrowed), two changes of underwear, three pair of socks, a pair of pants and swimming trunks. I was the king of packing with just a backpack! My tent … simply marvelous as far as I’m concerned. It’s slammin’! I’ve got the place all to myself. I’ve got two beds, a shower, a lieu, one nice desk and … a front porch. I’m ready to rock. On top of that, it’s overseeing a river where the hippos are hanging out and sunbathing! I don’t know what I expected but these puppies are huge! They make this funny grunting noise too. Supposedly hippos are pretty shy. Well I can tell you this much, they have nothing to fear from me. They’ve got carte blanche as far as I’m concerned.

There is also a crocodile in the river somewhere. I saw him earlier but now I can’t seem to locate him. Apparently, the croc ate one of the goats from the herd a young boy was overseeing two days ago. Now the croc is just hanging out and trying to catch another tasty morsel on the banks of the river (I hope it's not me!).
Lion KingLion KingLion King

This is definitely the King of the Lions! I was in total awe of this male lion. I spotted him on the morning of my final day of the safari. I nearly jumped out of the vehicle (which would have been a "one time only" mistake on my behalf -- this guy would have chewed me to bits!). This lion exhibits to perfection why he alone is the KING! This animal is powerful, strong, ferocious, courageous and deserves every bit of respect given to it by both man and the animal kingdom.

I had a quick but very good lunch around 1330 and sacked out until 1510. The afternoon safari started at 1530. I needed the time to get over my air sickness so I just rested for a while! Now, for the safari … it started off slowly but really built to a crescendo during the course of the day. Keifu was the driver … and I’m looking forward to riding with him again tomorrow morning. We saw impalas, wildebeests, antelope, baboons, giraffes, wart hogs (they are such fast little critters), zebras and …. lions (insert photos)! I had a marvelous time. As a note to those of you that would like to go on a safari but haven’t done it … by all means … do it! I enjoyed myself thoroughly. It was indeed an exceptional day. I think that we were out for about 3 hours in total. There’s nothing better than moving along the tundra and being able to stand fully upright with your head out of the top of the Land Cruiser and just feel the wind, dust and dirt smack you right in the face as you navigate across the African continent. Yeah, full on!!! Hip hip! Cheerio! It was a bangin’ good time. Speaking of banging … I got bumped around pretty good in our land vehicle … took a few shots to the shoulders, elbows and ribs but it was well worth it. I had a great time. I think that my parents would enjoy the experience. My father and I have talked about taking a joing trip to Africa. We should definitely do that! I think that my Mom had mentioned that she would like to visit Germany (and maybe some other parts of Europe). We can definitely do that too!

Flashback: For some reason, the Mara Safari Club reminds me of the place I used to visit with my Mom and Dad every summer as a child. It was Lake Hope which was located in Zaleski, Ohio. Heck, I wonder if the place even exists now. I’ll have to google it and find out. Lake Hope was located out in the woods (lovely) and I used to love the drive there each summer. We’d stay there for a week and then go to visit my Grandparents afterwards for another week. I sooooo looked forward to these outings. The accommodations at Lake Hope consisted of these nice rustic log cabins. I could run and play in the woods for as much as I wanted and just let my imagination run completely free. Those were some great days. Additionally, there was a nice Lake where we’d go swimming each day. They also had a little refreshment stand ... … where you could consume mass quantities of dogs and burgers…. good hot dogs. On top of that, there was a neat little family putt-putt course … just thinking about this takes me back to a kid’s paradise!

Well, I downloaded my photos (that’s worth two stars) and had a great dinner. Also did a little shopping in the local shop at the safari club. I ran across a few books that appealed to my expeditionary spirit and will take a closer look at them tomorrow. In synopsis of my first safari experience … it was stupendous! Additionally, the more that I travel it seems the more that I want to travel. I envision myself traveling to, photographing, learning about (and understanding) the entire world. Additionally, there are business interests that are constantly in my head and I must investigate those as well. The more that I see things up close and personally for myself, research them and navigate the globe … it appears the more that I want to continue to do it. In other words, the desire to travel and have these experiences seems to grow exponentially. I have a friend that will be doing a 14 trip through Alaska next year. I think that the trip includes rafting, hiking and photography. I’ve always wanted to visit Alaska. Could it be next on the list???? J Well, it’s 0345 and I’ve got to stand up at 0545 today. I think that it’s time to get some sleep. There’s another safari tomorrow which means that there is much more to see and explore from the roof of a Land Cruiser!!

Day 2 highlights


Day 3 highlights
The morning started off fast and furious in terms of sighting animals today. I was pretty happy with what I had seen thus far and really didn’t expect much more. Obviously, seeing the lions prepare for their nighttime hunt yesterday brought a crescendo to the trip. Well, just when you thought that it couldn’t get any better … we spotted not one but two male lions (full mane and all) during the morning trip. They are quite beautiful and powerful animals (as you can see from the photos). Ours was the first truck on the scene. Keiffer (our driver) was cruising along and stated that he had scene a lion’s tail wagging in the brush. Of course all of us were in disbelief … how could anyone’s eyes capture such a fleeting moment. Keiffer persisted, swung the vehicle around 180 degrees and proceeded to track down the lions. We only saw one at first, then another larger lion, proceeded to unveal himself as he came out of the brush.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 6; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0437s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb