Friday the 13th - "Welcome to Africa"


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province » Nairobi
June 13th 2008
Published: June 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well, under the cover of darkness (4am to be exact) and with great sadness I left Capetown. I know I will be back to nail that "Garden Route" in the Summer so I only feel half sad but it was a good induction to the African continent. I can't help but feel though it was "Africa for Beginners." I think I wasn't wrong.

By coincidence two people in my room also had to go to the Airport at 4am, so it was relief to have someone to travel with. They were bound for Livingstone and I Nairobi both through Johannesburg. My flight from Capetown to Johannesburg was cancelled. Great start. I was put on an earlier one which ran considerably later than my original one at which point I started to get nervous I was going to miss my connecting flight. Fortunately I didn't, but that flight ran very late also. When it finally did board I gave the gent my boarding pass to be told I was "off the flight." I said what do you mean "off." He said "you off" as he crossed out my seat number on my boarding pass. At this point, my heart stopped as from memory the flight does not go that often and I knew I had to be in Nairobi by tomorrow night to join my tour. The gentlemen reappeared "you on" I said "what do you mean?" he said "you sharp." I said "Is my bag on?" He said "I checked, you sharp." I decided not to argue and boarded. Flight was relatively painless, the pilot pointed out an amazing view of Kiliminjaro on the right hand side, naturally I was sitting on the left.

I arrived in Nairobi to long visa/currency lines. I was unable to buy Kenyan Shillings in South Africa as they stopped keeping stock since the riots. Two South African ladies I had met in Jo'burg looked at me and said "Welcome to Africa!" Yeah thanks. I then went to collect my bag which did not arrive. The Kenyan gent in front of me at the Baggage Enquiries Desk said "Welcome to Africa!." South African Airways do not know where my bag is, I am hoping it turns up tomorrow or the Safari could turn out to a whole lot more feral than I originally thought. After finally filing a claim, I got out the gate and the driver waiting for me was just about to leave. After two late flights, and a lost bag, finally some luck. I explained the reason for my delay to which he responded "Welcome to Africa!" Grrr.

We then sat in the car for 1.5hours to go about 25kms. But I didn't mind a bit because I got to see a lot. This is real Africa. I am conscious that this can be read by anyone and the last thing I would want to do is offend someone but this is the Africa we are presented with at home. Images of dusty roads, shanty towns, people carrying things on their heads, beautiful women dressed in brightly coloured traditional dress, men piled into the backs of trucks. It was amazing to see and beautfiful to watch. There were a very large number of people on the streets and between crazy pedestrians and crazy drivers I clung very tightly to my seat! The driver was fantastic at explaining everything. He showed me where the American embassy that was bombed stood and all the other key buildings. He explained there are 42 tribes in Kenya and the background to the recent violence. While they have had their moments it appears they manage to co-exist relatively well.

So I sit here typing only with the clothes I am wearing to my name acknowledging I haven't had the greatest luck today. However, I will quickly put it into perspective for myself: when I was going through the security check in Johannesburg I witnessed an older white woman having an argument with the security guard when she came back toward me rather than passing through the gate. The next security guard asked what the problem was, she replied "I have butter and cheese and they won't let me on" My initial thought was "well naturally you are taking perishable food on a flight?" but then she said " I am from Zimbabwe and there is no way I can throw this away, no way! If I have to check it in on it's own I will" She proceeded to tell me they are starving, the supermarkets are empty. Really I have no problems. On the paper on the plane the price said 5 south african rand (less than 1AUD) or $400m Zimbabwe Dollars.



Advertisement



17th June 2008

Hey Tash!! What - they lost your bag?? I think you outstripped Kathmandu of all their stock and they wanted it back...Don't worry, it's part and parcel of going on holiday, it happens. Just look on the bright side, you're in an amazing place and will see some amaznig things. Enjoy yourself!! :)
20th June 2008

From Penn Dave and Kids
Hi Darl, Had to write just to say how proud we are of you! It sounds like you have encounted a number of challenges, but you have dealt with them with much insight, maturity, and understanding. Well done!!! Keep enjoying the amazing experience you are a part of! Love you Lots!!! Penn, Dave, Ben, Char and Binky xxxxxxxxx P.S. Love the pics!
24th June 2008

Thanks guys! Miss you millions! Tash x

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0387s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb