Asante Sana Squashed Banana


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province » Nairobi
August 1st 2007
Published: August 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Thank-you to everyone who donated money towards the school - they really appreciate it. The cupboards, tables and chairs and currently being built, but should be ready before I leave.

A few weeks ago, I was sitting in my room when I felt the whole chair shake for about 2 minutes. Thinking it was just the boys in the next room jumping off the walls or something, I ignored it. Then it happened again when I was in bed later that night. My whole bed was shaking for a few minutes - geez, i thought, those rats are getting really big! The next morning I found out that I had just experienced my first 2 earthquakes! (well, tremors really). It was quite a weird experience now that i think about it..

Last Thursday we had a 'cultural day' at the school which was about girl empowerment and supporting girl's education, organised by the Girl Child Network. It turned out to be a really awesome day, beginning with a parade from the students and teachers (from 3 different schools) walking down through the town with posters designed by the teachers and I, supporting girl's education, against FGM and early marriages etc. The girls from the different schools then put on little performances, sang, danced, read poems and acted out little skits. There were a lot of speeches from different members of the community and the organisation, including Maggie (the nurse, she used to go to Saikeri Primary school) who spoke a very inspiring speech about how she became a nurse and that now she has come back to help her community and be a role model for the younger girls. I was very touched when the Chief stood up started speaking in swahili, then seeing me, he stopped what he was saying and apologised to me and announced he would speak in English 'so our friend can understand'. I felt very much apart of the community, and not just a guest in their town.

I also have some very exciting news - Kuja has had puppies! last week i found Kuja underneath the wood pile surrounded with what looked like 8 black rats - they are simply adorable. Amazingly there were no still births and the puppies are looking very healthy, although still blind and crawling, however Kuja is very thin and doesn't look well at all.

My family has just bought a new dvd player (i know, it's a long story), and so as a gift, I've bought them a couple of dvds (with 6-8 movies on each). we've spent every night watching movies such as Shrek, Finding Nemo, The Lion King (which they'd never heard of, but they loved all the swahili references), Toy Story, and all the Harry potters - and they absolutely loved all of them. They really love Harry Potter, humming the music and trying all the spells out.

This is my final week at Saikeri, and although I'm ready to leave, it will be very sad to go and I'm going to miss everyone and the town so much as its really grown on me. I'll miss the fresh air, beautiful scenery, all the kids that hang around our house, the school, the teachers, and especially my family who have been so welcoming and sweet and I've really felt apart of their family over these 3 months.

I have to admit though, I am looking forward to living in Nairobi for 1 month, with all the 'luxuries' Ive been missing - an actual house, a toilet, a shower, no rodents - heaven!

Advertisement



16th August 2007

ivan
Well done Hannah! I've loved reading your adventures. The school sounds wonderful and I'm sure you're quite sad to leave them all. Enjoy yourself in Nairobi, and pass on my regards to David!
22nd August 2007

hey hannah!
hey! we miss you and kenya so much. i hope that everything is going great with you. don't lose touch tell us all the stories that we've missed. brookelynnbauer@gmail.com. safe journeys. Love, brooke and alan.

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0399s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb