It was safer to fly to Africa than America


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province » Nairobi
August 12th 2006
Published: March 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Day 80: Thursday, August 10: Amsterdam to London

Well.. It was time to pack up (in the rain again) and head out for our journey to London. We stopped in Belgium along the way just to get a country tick box. This is where we also first learned about what was going on in London wrt the terrorist issues. We got to our ferry just a little late and had to wait over an hour for the next one. Ferry ride was uneventful and we were told there might be border issues due to the going ons, but no issues here.

We got back into London, unloaded the coach and started to say some goodbyes. I made a ton of new friends on this trip and it was pretty difficult. Unfortunately, in all the hubbub, I left my day pack on the ground when I took stuff to the hotel room. I didn't realize it for 3 hours later. We checked our flight info (mine was scheduled as ontime) and then headed to dinner and had some ale and steak and ale pie... YUM!! We went back to the London Pub to say our last goodbyes. I stopped by the room and realized my bag was missing. I grabbed my tour manager and asked if she could help. We pushed our way through reception and lucky dog me, my bag was there with all of my possesstions.. PHEW!! Back to the pub for a drink and then off to repack my bags and head to bed.

Day 81: Friday, August 11: London to Nairobi

I got up at 5am for my 10am flight since I just didn't know what was going to happen. I packed all my bags, only keeping my wallet and passport on me. I got to the tube before it even opened and headed to the airport. Got to the airport and didn't really have any lines.. Checkd in both my bags and was given a plastic bag for all my stuff. Walked over to security and was asked if I was willing to participate in a body scan.. I said sure, they did it and then I got to skip the entire security line. They sent me through the metal detector and then did a hand pat down (which they were doing on everyond). Now I was inside the concourse 3 hours before my flight. Checked the internet, bought some snacks and a couple of books for my new tour.

The flight took off about an hour late as we waited for passengers to get through security. Uneventful flight, watched Ice Age 2, Inside Man and Over the Hedge. I got a $20 Transfer visa instead of a $50 normal Kenya visa and got my bags with no problems. Found my taxi driver, had dinner at the hotel and slept in my own room for the first time since Egypt!!!

Day 82: Saturday, August 12: Nairobi

This morning I slept in and then was picked up by my on personal guide that took me to an elephant orphange. We saw all the little elephants play together and then headed over to a Giraffe Sanctuary. Fed the Giraffe's and then went to Karen Bixon's museum (author of Out of Africa). Headed back to the hotel, where I've been here updating all my photos on a slow internet connection.

Tomorrow is the first day of my tour and we head to Tanzania. I don't know when "Next time" will be, but hopefully as soon as I can. Take Care!!

~Dave

Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0359s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb