Shimoni, Vipingo, and the End of an Era


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Coast Province » Mombasa
December 22nd 2010
Published: December 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well, it's finally here. Six months in Kenya, and now my time as a volunteer is over. When I think back on it I can't remember where the days went. It seems like just a moment since I was saying goodbye to Liam and my family at the airport, and now it's me going to meet Liam at the airport tomorrow. Now we get to start our own journey, which is going to be amazing.

The past while has been lots of moving around and meeting new people. Two weeks ago I said a short farewell to my homestay family and went down to Shimoni by matatu. Charles came with me until the Likoni ferry to make sure I was safe, which was nice of him. I caught the matatu going straight to Shimoni, which made life easier for me. It was good to be back at the GVI house, and to catch up with people I hadn't seen in ten weeks. It was also interesting getting to talk with the new crop of interns and remember back to the end of September when I was getting my placement and learning what I would be up to next. I can definitely understand when a few of them talked about uncertainties, and I was able to reassure them that it would actually turn out alright, which made me feel good.

Most of my week in Shimoni was taken up with seeing the old places, saying final goodbyes to people, and relaxing. My phone died part way through, but luckily when I took it to a repairman he was able to fix it.

Going back to my homestay house was uneventful, but I was proud that I could go all the way up by myself. I had a quiet afternoon, and I managed to pack all my six months worth of stuff back into my two bags, which I was pleased at.

It was sad saying goodbye to my family the next day. It's been amazing staying with them, and I know I'll always remember my time there.

A few months ago one of my friends stayed at a hostel called Mombasa Backpackers, and he'd recommended it. I decided to give it a try for my final few days before Liam arrived. They'd switched locations the day before I arrived, so I had to call them en route to find directions. The house is really nice. Dorm rooms, a big kitchen, and an awesome roof terrace where they've put beds for people to sleep.

I've stayed here a week, and mostly tried to keep myself busy. Lots of reading and walking around. One morning I went to a place called Haller Park, which is really pretty. The area where the park is located used to be a cement quarry, and in the 1970's the land was reclaimed and turned into a park. It's got giraffe, hippos, crocodiles, and giant tortoises. I would recommend it to anyone in the Mombasa area. One of the days I also met up with Charles and joined him when he went to talk with a company about funding for the Bureni Turtle Group.

Now I have one more day of keeping myself busy. Tomorrow I move to my hotel and pick Liam up at the airport. It's strange to think it's finally over. The last six months have been fun, but I'm ready for the next adventure.

Advertisement



22nd December 2010

Ooty Resorts, ooty homestay, Coonoor resorts, Coonoor homestay.
Good post .. I like this very much, very useful for tourism.. if you have a little time, you can visit my website.. Welcome to stay in Ooty Resort at the Great grandfather’s Ooty home stay nestled in the Niligiri Hill Coonoor Resort in of south India.Read More.. Ooty Resort thanks for sharing ..
24th December 2010

can't wait to see you
Well, I can't believe six months is over either. Time does really fly. You had an amazing adventure and I'm proud of you for doing it. But, I'm so looking forward to seeing you back here again. Have a great month with Liam. Mum

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0618s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb