Weekend with my family


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Coast Province » Mombasa
March 13th 2006
Published: March 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

This weekend was sooo nice. =) It was great getting to spend time with my host-family. Sat. the kids all went to Madrasa. My host mom and I went out to get me a cell phone and so she could grab a couple things for her dad before we went out to her parents place. Her parents live in a part of Mombasa known as Bamburi. It's about a 30 min. matatu ride. It was nice to meet her family. Her mom was soooo cute. She didn't speak any english, but had a great time talking with me. hehe... it was quite interesting. I'll definetely have to go back and visit. When we got back home we just relaxed. The evening was spent playing cards. =) We had a blast!

Sun. the kids had Madrasa again, but only half a day on Sun. After lunch the twins, Rokiya and I went to Pirates. It's a local beach spot. There's also a pool and then a couple slides there. It was soooo much fun. =) It was also great bonding time with Rokiya (the boys were off on their own). While we were walking up the stairs to get to the slides a guy said hi and asked where I was from. I talked to him breifly and then he started talking to Rokiya. It made her sooo uncomfortable. I felt sooo bad. In this culture the women almost never talk to guys outside of their family and I could tell she really didn't like the attention. We spent the rest of the afternoon trying to avoid him, but he wouldn't take the hint. He kept wanting to talk with me and in the process also talk to Rokiya. I felt so bad 'cause if I, the mzungu (white person) hadn't been there, he wouldn't have bothered Rokiya. Luckily though the two of us were still able to have a good time. =)

After the pool and slides closed the four of us hung out for a bit. there was a lot going on at the beach. When we hopped in the Matatu a group of boys got in after us. Soon after we took off they started talking to me and Rokiya. She hardly gave them the time of the day and tried to not talk to them. I tried that too, but the less I talked, the more they bugged Rokiya, so then I started trying to talk to them so they'd leave her alone. Again I could just see how uncomfortable she was. The guy talking to me soon aksed for my contact information.... like I was going to give him that. He wanted a phone number, etc. He even wanted to know where he could find me if he goes to the states. I've wisened up a little since I've been here and refused to give him any info. Told him I didn't have a phone, etc. When we finally got off, he and his friends did too. He ended up following us for a while and said he was going to give me his number so I could call him. I told him I didnt' have a phone and wasn't sure I'd be able to and was doing all I could to get rid of him. He finally left us alone and we finished the walk home in peace. Ali told me that I should just start being rude to those guys (cause just a couple days before that I breifly talked to another guy who also wanted my contact information because "the good lord had brought us together and we had to continue this beautiful love"). So instead I've decided that a pretend husband would do the trick. My host mom suggested it. (I got asked several times this weekend if I was married).

Other than all of that stuff, I really love it here. It was a great weekend with the family. It's going to be yet another wonderful week with them. =) Gotta go back to class now. Kwaheri!

Advertisement



14th March 2006

Rachel married??!!
Mmmmm married? I don't know Rachel! When that happens I want to be involved! It is fun reading your blog.

Tot: 0.195s; Tpl: 0.031s; cc: 7; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0922s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb