Its all Klass in Kilifi!


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Coast Province » Mombasa
August 16th 2008
Published: August 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So I noticed that my last blog entry ended rather abruptly, which I'm assuming is something to do with these dam internet cafes where the server goes off every 5 minutes! In fairness it was pretty long anyway, so I'm sure it doesn't matter...

So I've just finished my second week in Kilifi, and am in Mombasa again now until I go home. It was so sad saying goodbye to the kids, they are all so lovely. The last week has been pretty stressful, with us three volunteers pretty much running the school. Its now the holidays, so we have been runing extra English grammar and composition tuition *yawn* from 8.30 until lunchtime, then after lunch just spending time with the kids, playing games etc. The tuition stuff has got really boring though, but the kids are just so desperate to learn that they don't seem to mind! On friday we finally decided enough was enough, and we put all our classes together and did some fun word games, then took them outside and taught them 'duck duck goose' and other games, which I think they really appreciated after working so hard.

I have spent about 2 days on my deathbed as well- after going on about how wonderful the food was on safari, I now take it back as I definately picked up something nasty. I'm fine now, but it was all very dramatic on wednesday when I was certain that I only had hours left to live, and even if I survived the food poisoning, I thought I would probably end up with malaria as I had been vomiting up my tablets... :-( Anyway of course I didn't die or catch malaria and I woke up on thursday full of enthusiasm once again, and singing like Mary Poppins, much to the enjoyment of my fellow volunteers!

So anyway highlight of the week was definately 'wildlife night'... All week we have been battling an indestructable centipede who lives in our bath, whilst showering under a pipe by torchlight due to the broken light. Not to mention all the crazy bugs and lizards that are always in our room. But on thursday the whole wildlife experience all got a bit too much...we had smuggled 2 bottles of wine into the commune, and we were a bit tipsy to say the least! So we were about to go to bed and lock the door, when this giant millipede crawled into our room. No sooner had we evicted said millipede, than we found two frogs hopping around the bathroom! I decided that it was my turn, and threw one frog out losing sight of the other, only to turn round and discover yet ANOTHER dam millepede just wandering across the room! It all got very stressful...

So I am now staying in the volunteer house in Mombasa until I leave, which is swarming with mosquitos, but thankfully no frogs or millipedes! And has an ACTUAL showerhead, not just a pipe! Its good to be back in the land of civilisation!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0546s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb