Back in Nairobi


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Coast Province » Mombasa
March 2nd 2007
Published: March 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

I'm back in Nairobi and i am developing a small hatred for this city. This place is one big traffic jam. It's polluted, it's busy and it's unsafe. I really wouldn't normally be worried about walking around but everyone i meet both Kenyans an travellers tell me a new story of how they were mugged. I had heard these stories before I left but took it with a pinch of salt until i arrived. Nevertheless most people are friendly. This morning I visited the Kenyatta Conference Centre as there is a viewing point where you can see all over Nairobi. I then went to sit in the restaurant to have a drink. I was joined shortly after by a Kenyan politician for the opposition party. I think he wanted to understand things from a Tourists point of view. But he said he just didn't understand the idea of 'Backpacking'! Like most people I meet i had to give him my e-mail address etc and I have his telephone number in case I am at a loose end. Don't worry I never give out my address or phone number etc.

The Coast was absolutely amazing. i am really missing it already. It was hot there and here in Nairobi it feels cool in comparison. I am wearing jeans today! I stayed at Diani Beach but i was really surprised to find most places full or out of my budget price range. Instead I fell on the mercy of the manager of the internet cafe who arranged for me to stay with his cousins for free. It was great there and i really felt at home. He also organised a few trips where he gets commission so in exchange for the free accommodation I felt obliged to go on 1 or 2. He really looked after me and let me use the internet for free too. That was really useful as it took ages to upload the few photos I have put up and it would have cost me a fortune.

Been out a few times. But at the clubs by the beach it is quite sleazy with a number of old white men with young Kenyan girls. It's proabaly different here in Nairobi but the clubs were also so quiet. Just a select few on the dance floor which made me feel fairly self-conscious!

Anyway gotta go as this time I am having to pay for the internet. Will try and put up more photos soon.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0327s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb