Belated Thanksgiving Wishes


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana
January 14th 2011
Published: January 14th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Family PhotoFamily PhotoFamily Photo

Thanksgiving Day. Back Row L-R Kirk, Kwabena (18) Abigail (14) Grace (15) Praise (7) Ophelia (17) Front Row Cynthia (16) Agnes (27) and Christine
I thought I finally had an internet connection strong enough to post this. But ... I've been trying for the past hour ... this is my fourth attempt.... If it doesn't post this time I'm outta here! I REALLY want to post photos but that is where the problems intensify...

**************************************

November 2010

School days continue. We have one more teacher added to the staff, making us three in all. We come from different routines and have varied teaching styles. It will take time to figure out how to blend together. In these early days we seem to flow without tensions. I take this as a good sign of things to come

I took Thanksgiving week off. Though we don’t live in the US Kirk and I still like to celebrate this American holiday. We had our family feast on Saturday. The human heart is complicated. We enjoy people and life in Ghana. At the same time we miss our family, friends and celebrations in the US.

Kwabena didn’t have school on Friday which was perfect for me ~ he’s such a fantastic helper. While the rest of the kids were in school, Kwabena and I began to tackle menu items one by one.

We had the basics - the bird (well, several bird legs!), stuffing, mashed potatoes, biscuits, gravy, and pumpkin pie. We do have a few alternations such as coleslaw, iced hibiscus tea and chicken thighs in place of a turkey. EVERYTHING from scratch! At least I didn’t have to grow the chicken or bake bread. For the stuffing I was able to buy bread. Then simply dice, dry, spice … and bake it. This year we didn’t have to grow the pumpkin either. We were able to buy one in the city of Kumasi - 70 miles north.
Kwabena, being a strong skilled Ghanaian, merely needed to crack it open, piece it, cook and mash it. Then it was ready to be spiced and baked! So … simple…? …(smile)

In an attempt to “live conscious” and be aware of the daily events in our lives - for dinner conversation we each mention:
1.) Something we learned today that we didn’t know yesterday.
2.) Something we are thankful for.
3.) How we put a smile on someone’s face today.

We had a great time. Abigail said in her funny English, “I will always remember this food I had today”.

We love you all and miss you.
Happy Thanksgiving
Christine & Co








Advertisement



Tot: 0.167s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0676s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb