News Update!


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana
October 4th 2008
Published: October 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hey all,

As i think i mentioned before, the school i am teaching at is the Junior High and its very structured so I can't do all the exciting things like a drama workshop and organise a sports day, like i planned. They don't have the materials to do science experiments so Im finding teaching here very hard! Another teacher said he will try and help me talk to the Headmaster to try and sweet-talk him around so that I can do some of these things.

So after feeling very miserble that I travelled all this way to help and make a differance but then feeling like a spare part i decided to speak to the organiser of my trip and she understood as there are 3 other volunteers in my village and not enough work for us all to do! So in a few weeks I am moving to an orphanage where I will get to teach younger children however I like, as a lot more informal. And also I will get to be with the children and help care for them, so hopefully I will feel I have a lot more to do!

The family I live with are really nice, and the children have taught me how to collect water, so i go with them everyday to the well where I fill up my orange bucket and carry it on my head! I get very wet and have not yet learnt how to balance it, but im practising!!

On the fun side of things Ive taken a weekend off and gone travelling with Loyette, a girl I met in orientation. We have gone to Cape Coast and today we went to Elimina Castle where we saw the slave fort. That was extremely interesting but quite depressing, we were made to feel bad for being British! The beaches are also very nice!

I am curretnly at Hans Cottage which is known for its lagoon with crocodiles (ive seen 4 already) so tomorrow morning we are getting up early to go to Kakum National Park to do the canopy walk which is 40m above the ground!! Ill let you know if I dared to do it!

Hope everyone is well back home.

Sarah xx


Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0432s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb