African Birthdays


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana
September 16th 2007
Published: September 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Pumpkin PiePumpkin PiePumpkin Pie

A family FAVORITE!
The African culture does not dwell heavily on birthdays. If you (or your mother) are fortunate enough to know your birthday the regular celebration is a coke and package of cookies for the child. They are happy and satisfied with that.

September 3rd Praise celebrated his 4th birthday. I am still in awe over this child as I reflect back over his “incubation and entry”. He beat all odds to be born into this life. He beat all odds to have a full and healthy life. His character and spirit are so sweet and sincere. His mind and memory are also amazingly clear and absorbing. I thank God for him. What a blessing to our life! We just have to acknowledge it.

Kwabena also celebrates his birthday on September 3rd alongside Praise. Kwabena has lived with us for several years. We guess him to be about 14yrs old, his true age and birth date are unknown even to his family. He and Praise adore one another so very much that we asked them if they’d like to share a birthday. Their answer was a hearty “yes”.

“Betty Crocker” lives too far away for a chocolate cake. No complaints
The Birthday BikeThe Birthday BikeThe Birthday Bike

When I informed Praise that his birthday was coming, he replied, \"Santa Clause is coming!\"
by any of us. Pumpkin Pie is the family delight!

We were able to find a bike with training wheels for Praise. He is thrilled to have it and thinks we should take it everywhere with us. He wants it with him at all times. When he sleeps he wants to park it next to his bed! If he thought he’d get away with it, I know it would be IN his bed.

In the birthday pie picture (left to right) you see our special friend Kwesi (11yrs), Praise (4yrs), Kwabena (14yrs), and Joe (20yrs). Joe has been with us since he was a small child. He is attending his last year of boarding school and studying electricals. Agnes (24yrs) is our oldest child and a trained teacher also fulfilling her commitments in a very remote primary school several hours away from where we live.

School re-opens for us this week. I haven’t been to the village of Apebouso for the past month. But the reports I hear are that the community continues working on the final plastering of the new school building and will pour the floors as soon as more cement arrives. I’ll be taking another load this week. The school building may actually be completed some day. (smile)

Have a Great Week
Christine & Co



Advertisement



17th September 2007

Wonderful news
I love these photo's and the story. Glad you identified every one-- I have never met Agnes--- I am happy t o have both Kwabs and Praise on the same date--- I will have to make a point of remembering both of them. By the way -what condition are the wrist watches- are they still in running condition? Just thought I would ask. : - )
19th September 2007

Supplies coming
I just ordered 5 crank pencil sharpeners so will send them with the poster when they arrive. I just wanted to let others know in case they were going to do it too. Bless you!
8th December 2008

Bday Party
During one of my visits to Ghana, I learned it was one of my host families childs birthday! Excitedly I offered to pay for a birhtday party, her sweet 16, and her first ever birthday celebration. We had it at an oceanside restaurant in Tema and the kids were very excited. I purchased a nice big cake with tons of icing from a local shop.. Being in Ghana for a week I was ready for a nice piece of sweet cake! Imagine my surprise when I took a spoonful of that icing into my mouth!

Tot: 0.16s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0593s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb