Simply at Peace


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Western » Humjibre
July 25th 2013
Published: July 14th 2014
Edit Blog Post

I didn't know what to expect from my journey to Ghana. Really, I had no idea of what I was getting myself into. Maybe it was the constant studying and fear of failure from my nursing studies that kept my mind preoccupied with seemingly more vital day-to-day tasks; or maybe it was the daily reminder of my bodily deformities and chronic pain that left me wondering if I would be well suited for such a physical adventure; or maybe it was the ugly blackness of depression looming over me that made me believe that I was not good enough; whatever it was, I was fully unprepared to leave the comforts of home and head to Africa - and so, expected little.

In truth, Africa was never on my list of places to visit in my lifetime. My best friend travelled to Ghana a few years back and shared her experiences with enthusiasm - tales of crazy adventures captured in beautiful and vibrant photographs - but I felt no desire to travel there myself. Undoubtedly, I might be inclined to visit places like Egypt or Morocco later in life, both adventures in their own but "touristy" enough that I would remain in my comfort zone.

However, today I look back on the two weeks I spent in a small rural village in Western Ghana and realize that during that time I was the happiest I had been in years. It's a strange and humbling feeling to be more comfortable and feel at home amongst the shoeless children playing games with rocks in the dirt than in the downtown Toronto apartment I had been in for the previous 8 months.

In Humjibre, Ghana I am at peace. I can sing and play hop scotch and clapping games with young girls just for fun or let them braid my hair for hours. I can laugh as I watch little boys play futbal with an adult American and show him up (Yes, David. I am talking to you)! I can run in the rain and mud with new friends without a care in the world. I can make friends with the locals and appreciate their hard work and honest achievements. I can dance (or rather be taught how to dance) and play drums with passion. I can admire. I can smile. I can laugh. I can love. I can be happy.

Africa was never a place I though I would be but it was there that I discovered the best version of me.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.164s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1172s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb