Transfer to Woe


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Volta
February 15th 2007
Published: February 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I've had a mad week - there is no water in Ho (where I have been living), therefore I have been transferred to another town called Woe (pronounced Way) which is about a 2 hour drive away. At the base where I have been living there is a water reserve so no one realised that there was a water problem. However, once the water in the tank was finished, there was literally no running water. No one seems to know how long the problem will last so the charity had no option but to move us all to another base. The locals in Ho have been using water from wells, but I heard today that the water in the wells is almost finished. I don't know when/if I will get back to Ho, but I'm really disappointed that I am not at the school or orphanage for my last 2 weeks. If the water shortage is not resolved, I will just have to visit Ho briefly before leaving. I know I should just be grateful that I have been moved to an area where there is water - it's not so easy for the people of Ho.
Woe is in the Keta region of Ghana, on the south east coast. It's a small fishing village and there do not seem to be much facilities. The area also seems more run down than Ho. The base where I am living at is nice though, and the food is great. This probably sounds boring by now, but it wasn't long before the local kids were on the go to see what was happening. One of the first kids I met, called Charles, went to shake with his left hand which I found strange because it is custom here to only shake with the right hand. But then I noticed that his right hand was badly infected, and one of his fingers was really swollen and weeping. I was told that he has epilepsy and during one fit he fell into a fire. He was taken to the hospital when it happened but has not been back since. Whenever he goes near any of the volunteers one of the locals tells him to go away.
I also learned that he lives just at the back of the base with his father, but his mother is dead. I do not know for certain but I think his father has some learning disability which does not help the situation. Anyway. a few of the volunteers got together and we are going to get him to a hospital tomorrow - it will cost for treatment, but between us all it's not that much. I suppose it's because of the cost that this poor boy has not received any further medical attention. Although I was not happy at leaving Ho, it was maybe for the best so that this child can get some help. I'll update my blog once we've taken him to the hospital.
Today, because we have no placement to go to, we were taken to Fort Prinzenstein in the town of Keta. The fort was built in 1784 for the slave trade. Like the castle at Cape Coast it's quite a depressing place. In one of the dungeons you can see where the slaves used their fingers in a desperate attempt to escape. In the afternoon we went on a trip to Keta Lagoon, which is the largest in Ghana. I was taken out in a canoe, which required water to be removed every so often! The water is not very deep though so it was safe enough.
Last night, as a welcome to Woe, there was a performance of traditional drumming and dancing - at one stage I was dragged up to dance....it's maybe the stress of the last 6 weeks but once up there was no stopping me. Just so you know, I am quitting my job, joining the dance group and going on a tour of African villages!


Advertisement



16th February 2007

Dancing round Africa
Well Ricki, the mind boggles! I can just imagine you bopping away to the drums, as long as you don,t start singing, that might be a bit scary. We know you are disappointed to be moved from Ho, but as you say maybe it was for a reason. Hope the little boy receives the treatment he needs , and that his injuries get better, it,s so sad to think that he has just been left to suffer. You will all be well and truly BLESSED for helping this poor little boy.Hope you enjoy your time in Woe, even though you didn,t really want to go .At least you are seeing a bit more of the country before you come home. Speak to you soon.x
16th February 2007

Will be sorry to see you go but I am sure you will be successful in your new career!! I have really enjoyed keeping up with your expoits and I am sure it has been a sobering experience seeing the hardship of the kids and they still seem so happy. I hope that the little boy gets some help when you take him to hospital. All your family and friends must be very proud of you. See you when you come back to work.
4th June 2007

regarding Charles
My daughter was in Ghana last year for 8 weeks. She too met Charles and immediately fell for him. He was being treated then for his feet infections and she dressed his wounds for him until time for her to leave and another volunteer was to take over. She will never forget Charles. She is volunteering again in Ghana in August and wants to look him up. Thank you for caring for him. So sad--and we take so much for granted here.
6th June 2007

Thanks
Thanks for your comment - was your daughter with CCS? I read a book left at the homebase with details of Charles, and the person who wrote it said that they helped treat his feet. He is such a likeable boy, but no one seems to look after him. I was only in Woe for a few days so felt a bit helpless but I heard once I got home that his hand had healed a bit. Unfortunatley his feet were not so good. I also plan togo back to Ghana and check up on him. I would also like to go back in August but it might be next year.

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0565s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb