Adaklu Mountain


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Volta
February 13th 2007
Published: February 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Up at 6.00am on Sunday to go on a hike up Adaklu mountain. The mountain is approx 2000 feet high and is only a 30 minute drive from Ho. The mountain is surrounded by about 40 villages, and we were dropped off at a village called Klepke (no idea how you pronounce it). I naively thought it would be a brisk walk up the mountain, but it turned out to be pretty tough! (not helped by the fact that I am not fit enough). At times I had to climb using a rope and had to use my hands and feet at other times! But the view at the top is amazing - you look directly onto the village and can see for miles. It really did feel like I was in Africa standing at the top of that mountain, and if nothing else in my life I can say I climbed a mountain in Africa! About a third of the way up the mountain, there is another village called Abodua (no, I don't know how to say that either). We stopped there for a rest and as usual the children come running to greet you. It's strange to think people actually live on the mountain. At one stage on the hike a massive stone came loose and I genuinely had to dive out of its way or I would have been sent flying! Eventually got back to the base, filthy and with a few blisters, cuts and bruises but it was worth it.
I spent Saturday organising the bunk beds for the orphanage. I've ordered 2 bunk beds (4 beds in total) and 4 matresses. When I told the owner of the orphanage she said 'God will bless you richly!' The beds will be delivered on Thursday.
I went to the orphanage on Monday instead of going to the school. There are 3 children not at school so I am going to teach them for 2 days a week, and still go to the school 3 days. The children are Emmanuel (aged 12), Dzgibodi (aged 13) and Evelyn (aged 8). It was good to concentrate on helping just 3 children, instead of a whole class, but it's quite difficult because none of them speak very good English. Emmanuel and Dzgibodi really wanted to learn but Evelyn could not be bothered! I gave them books and pencils to do their homework, and when I went in by the orphanage today some of the other kids were also asking for stuff, so I will have to go back with more. Most kids are keen to learn and want to impress you.
The other day in town I met an artist called Kofi - he just stopped me in the street as people here do. He told me roughly where he kept his paintings, so yesterday I went to see if I could find him. Eventually I met him on the main road, and before I knew it I was off to his house to see his paintings! I remember thinking you would never do this in the U.K, but it's just how things are here. His paintings were brilliant - mainly abstract which I like. I bought one for 10 pounds, which is a lot in Ghana but it would be a lot more back home. I might get some more before I come home.
I was back to school today, and brought some Scotland flags with me which are now placed around the classroom walls - the pupils thought this was great and they started clapping for me (they have a specific clap for when someone does good). One of the pupils (Stanley) then started shouting 'God Bless Ricki!' It's not something I thought would ever happen to me, but I have been well blessed this week!
I also brought a poster with me and got all the children to do a hand print with paint, which is also on the classroom wall - and yes, God was asked to bless me yet again!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.081s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb