African Cup/Decision Time


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Volta » Lake Volta
January 21st 2008
Published: January 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

To everyone who has been reading and writing, I wanted to start off by saying thanks again. It has really meant a lot to me to see that all of you are tuning in to my ramblings, and thinking of me as I am surely thinking of you (especially if you have the ability to either 1.) brew some coffee in your own home 2.) take a hot shower.) Thanks for your comments/messages.

Yesterday was insane. We started off for the trip home from the coast at about 9:30 in the morning... all dreading, I think, the same hellacious trip we had experienced on Friday. Thankfully, it was not to be. After about 3 hours, we stopped off in the capital, Accra. By divine intervention, my trip here happens to coincide with the African Cup, Africa's version of the World Cup. The luck continuing even further, Ghana is hosting this tournament and all of the games. Yesterday was game one: Ghana vs. Guinea. I chose not to go to the actual game, but the city was pulsating with excitement from the early morning on. I saw men, their bodies fully painted, wearing nothing but tightie whities dancing in the street. I saw an old woman, braless (and shall we say, gifted? well-endowed??) dancing to something from the Jock Jams CD. Traffic was insane, but this time we blew it off because the vibe was such a positive one. We stopped to have some lunch, I ate my hummus and pita with a never-ending grin of contentment, and half of us were on our way again. (To those of you who are currently chastising me for not attending, you obviously don't know the pepper spray and busted nose story. Claim to fame!) We arrived back to Hohoe at about 6:30, to a dinner awaiting us, and a feeling of coming home. Actual home.

Sorry to make this novel-esque, but today I decided to change my volunteer placement. Upon arrival today we were not met with the promised students, but instead with more sexual advancements. We were told to hang in there, but when the entire 3 hours consisted of counseling one of the other volunteers on his girlfriend problems, I decided to scat. I'm headed to the orphanage tomorrow, where I hear there is no bathroom but about 100 kids. And singing.

Enjoy the snow dear friends and family. It's 95 F plus here.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0572s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb