A wide range


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Volta » Lake Volta
January 11th 2008
Published: January 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Going to the airport and getting on a plane always brings out the best in people. Emotions run high, butterflies attack the inner reaches of one's stomach, and nerves creep out of crevices. On my way into work this morning, as I was sipping on my habitual liter of coffee, the realization hit me. "Tonight, you leave for Africa." I slammed on the brakes, spit out my coffee (slowly, and with feeling) and had to pull over to clean the windshield of the debris. The Avett Bros. played on through my speakers, seemingly undeterred by my outburst. I took a deep breath, driving on. "One step in front of the other," I told myself. "Keep your foot on the gas, moving forward."

I'm frightened by this trip. There, I said it. Going to Africa scares me. Happy? At this point though, the excitement and curiosity overwhelms all else. And the realization hits me: this is a gift that I've been given to fulfill a need that I had. And based on my placement and what I will be doing over there, this rings even more true. To use the old addage: only time can tell what effect it will have.

Africa. I say the word and roll it around in my mouth to get the full flavor of it. So far, its nothing but sweet.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.147s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0465s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb